Heuerville

Vintage Heuer / TAG Heuer watches, and a few others. Plus Handmade straps..

TAG Heuer 1000 980.013N

with 23 comments

TAG Heuer 1000 Series Diver, 200m Mans full size 38mm case (not oversized).

First off, this diver is in superb shape, it’s the finest condition early TAG Heuer diver I’ve seen in years. Secondly, it is beautifully made. Although I’m more of a ‘Heuer’ man than a ‘TAG Heuer’ man, these early TAG models are often overlooked and I personally think they shouldn’t be. Being some of the first divers to bear the new TAG Heuer shield, they are essentially TAG branded Heuers. Some might argue with that, but I think these early models have something about them that the later TAG Heuers lost.

To some, these divers combine the best of both worlds, being vintage, closely associated with Heuer, but bearing the wider recognised more modern TAG Heuer name, which some perceive to be more sporting and prestigious. I’m not saying that’s right, but beauty is in the eye of the beholder and all that.

Whichever way you look at it, this 1000 is stunning…

Written by Heuerville

September 18, 2010 at 5:22 pm

Posted in TAG Heuer

Tagged with

23 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great post I have the same model 980 013N but need a new movement. Does anyone know the eta movement number?

    michael smith

    October 7, 2010 at 2:59 am

    • I’ve just checked an unpublished close up photo of the movement – it’s 555.115.
      Unfortunately, I think this movement is obsolete, but I have read that a substitute would be ETA 955.114, although you would have to check the tech data.

      heuerdiver

      October 7, 2010 at 8:31 am

  2. I bought this watch with my first wage back in 1989 and still own it today. Its in near perfect condition as above and keeps nuclear time and I mean 1 sec every quarter. Wanted the Rolex Submariner but my wants outstripped my means. My son will get it when he graduates. I just hope he looks after it.

    Richard Mann

    April 30, 2011 at 2:06 pm

    • Richard,
      They are a superbly put together timepiece. Passing it on to your son will be a great gesture. I’m intrigued as to what you will replace it with!?

      heuerdiver

      May 2, 2011 at 10:44 am

  3. Gentlemen, to digress a bit, I’ve been quoted a movement replacement price by a jeweler of $120 for a 555.115 on my two tone stainless/gold 1000 Professional, 980 020N.
    He also quoted the same price simply to service the movement. I saw him open the case and the battery had corosion on it and replacing it did not revive the watch. Would I retain any better value by having him service the original movement, or should I have him replace it with a new movement?

    Stick Rockwell

    December 13, 2011 at 8:15 pm

    • Stick, Personally, I would have a replacement put in. Even if it was returned to TAG Heuer, they may well replace it completely instead of servicing it, so IMHO I don’t think any value would be lost – it’s pretty normal to fit replacement movements.

      Heuerville

      December 15, 2011 at 9:25 pm

      • Thank, Heuerville. I think I’ll have the old girl reserrected. Even if it winds up being the replacement movement instead of the original 555.115, the watch will be running and sharing some wrist time with my other watches.

        Happy Holidays,

        Stick

        Stick Rockwell

        December 15, 2011 at 9:55 pm

  4. Tag would not even look at mine too old and no parts. Go with the new movement & save the old one for future parts. Maybe you should think of a well made modern replacement Eta 955112 ($32.00). Ask your watchmaker but I don’t think the original movement was very high end to begin with.

    michaelas6

    December 15, 2011 at 11:37 pm

    • michaelas6,

      Thanks for the additional input. I have seen info on the internet related to your recommended replacement. It’s more gratifying to have interested parties express their opinions than reading some canned tech data.

      Again, thanks and Happy Holidays,

      Stick

      Stick Rockwell

      December 16, 2011 at 1:24 pm

  5. I have one of these that my ex-wife gave me for my birthday in 1989. I wear it every day, and it has taken a beating (the one in the pics looks like it is never worn!). I have to say, it’s built like a tank. The only issue I have ever had w/ it was circa 2000 when the second hand fell off. Sent it in for service, and it has been flawless ever since. Last time it needed a battery, I was surprised that TAG would no longer service it. Like the other poster, I hope to be able to pass it along to my son. It really has been the best watch I’ve ever owned.

    Bill

    March 15, 2012 at 8:55 pm

  6. Hello,

    My son inherited the same watch from my father but the serial number ends in an L. Last month he discovered the stainless elapse ring (bezel), springs and black number dial had fallen off the watch – again – but this time these parts are lost forever.

    Tag Heuer no longer make replacement parts for this model. They suggested that “universal” parts may fit but could offer no source. I’ve called several authorized Tag repair shops but no one knows of any.

    I was able to find a replica of the numbered dial for this model on eBay, however one of Tag shops I spoke to said they have found the fit is not quite correct so the watch can’t be waterproofed. Does anyone have any sources or repair shops that might be able to help?

    Thank you,

    Heidi

    Heidi Kulsavage

    October 19, 2012 at 9:33 pm

    • Heidi,
      I think I understand.. there is some different terminology.. you found a replacement bezel insert on ebay.. and the fit isn’t quite right. Yes, this can happen, but theis does not affect waterproofing, it is an external part of the case, so has no relevance on being waterproof. It sounds like the repair shop is not being honest with you, or they don’t know what they are doing.

      It is true that TAG Heuer don’t have many spare parts for this series of watches, but AD’s aren’t that knowledgeable in them. Your best bet is to find a Tag Heuer dealer, and tell the you want to send the watch to the Swiss vintage dept.

      Heuerville

      October 19, 2012 at 9:58 pm

  7. Hi Stewart,
    A great write up and your site was the first place to look in researching the 980.013 I have just picked up. Normally I have never been interested in them, but to see and handle one, its a really really nice little watch, just about wearable for myself, and my Wife even likes it. Its a pre Tag version with different caseback and plexi crystal. On a black NATO ( another no go generally for me!) and it just works a treat. Really impressed with it and cracking value compared to the Autavia’s which are my usual territory.
    I can see me doing a lot more hunting for these after having a look through your articles.

    Thanks you for sharing them

    cakey007

    April 15, 2015 at 8:56 am

  8. Wanted TAG HEUER 1000 With blue face must be in ex condition

    Adrian

    August 28, 2015 at 8:40 am

  9. Excellent article. Is this watch 20mm lug width, I’m just dying to know and keeping my fingers crossed. Thanks in advance Heurville.

    Jorge Ledesma

    May 31, 2016 at 4:08 am

  10. Oh wow I so wanted a 20mm in this style for my collection, thanks H

    Jorge Ledesma

    May 31, 2016 at 10:35 am

  11. I have noticed this stunning watch on eBay with exactly the same pictures used. Are you selling this, or have you sold it to someone else? Thanks

    Chris

    December 3, 2016 at 9:32 am

    • Chris,
      Thanks, another reader informed me of this too. It is not me selling it. I sold the watch many years ago, and the seller on eBay is using my photos without permission.

      Heuerville

      December 3, 2016 at 11:42 am


Leave a Reply

