Heuerville

Vintage Heuer / TAG Heuer watches, and a few others. Plus Handmade straps..

Heuer Autavia 15630 MH ‘Hellenic’

with 2 comments

Heuer Autavia 15630 MH ‘Hellenic’, Cal. 15, c1972-5

All watch collectors will know that you don’t really get to choose which watches become firm favourites. Sure, there are the ‘grail models’ that we chase, but every now and then we might take a punt on a watch, simply because it’s in decent condition and it’s fairly good value.. but surprisingly become rather attached to it. This Cal. 15 is such a watch. It was knocking about eBay for ages.. hanging around in my ‘watched items’ list, but I really wasn’t bothered by it.. it just sat there, being re-listed several times as seemingly, no one wanted it. I can’t remember exactly why I finally bid on it.. probably beer was involved. My bid won and it winged its way from sunny Greece to my door.

I was pleasantly surprised by its fine original condition. The most striking feature is its wonderful Hellenic sun bleached hands and dial. The original orange hands and dial accents have faded to a beautiful textured yellow.. the hands are especially nice, as they have faded more towards their bases – which may seem weird, but if you think about it, the tips spend more time in the shade of the watch case than the base – but that’s just a (terrible) theory. Either way, it has a lovely sun-bleached look.. I guess the watch-nut term would be ‘tropic’, but that really is more of a ‘black to brown’ dial term.. so I like ‘Hellenic’, given its time basking in the Greek sun, it seems rather appropriate.

The next problem was finding a strap for it.. it just didn’t look right on anything I had.. until I stuck it on an old DB10 strap.. and wow, what a combo. I know straps are personal taste, but if ever a strap & watch match was made in heaven, this is it! Thinking about it – maybe I should try it on a GF too.

This model is noted in catalogues 72, 74, 75.. Here it is in the 1972 Brochure over on On The Dash

Heuer Autavia 15630 MH

Written by Heuerville

April 28, 2013 at 5:16 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi. This looks brilliant on this strap.
    Where can I get one.

    Michael

    April 29, 2013 at 7:00 am


Leave a Reply

