Heuerville

Vintage Heuer / TAG Heuer watches, and a few others. Plus Handmade straps..

Heuer Carrera 510.511 PVD

with 11 comments

Heuer Carrera 510.511 PVD, Lemania 5100 powdered c1983-5

I finally managed to bag one of these uber-cool Lemania 5100 driven Carreras. I have to thank a fellow Swiss collector for allowing me to get my grubby mitts on this mint example of this bad-ass tool watch. The size is perfect, it’s no oversized beast, being 38mm across without the crown. Even though many tool-esk Heuers are bigger, this Carrera is surprisingly well balanced and comfortable, especially shod with a DD handmade strap, (those in the Heuer community know how charming they are.) You really don’t notice you are wearing it, and it can be worn slightly loose on the wrist without the head slip-sliding around.

I find the overall design and case fascinating, the case is unusual in its shape for a Heuer, sort of flat and squarish, imagine a flattened Autavia case, not that dissimilar to the cushion cased/turtleback divers from the 70’s. It’s very utilitarian, it means business, yet at the same time, quite elegant and minimal. The PVD is immaculate, the matt finish soaking up any light.. this gives it a very mil-look appearance, it really is jet black – hold it against almost anything else that is black, that it makes stuff look like a deep grey washed-out black.  And lets not forget this is a Carrera, a legendary name, this model coupled with a legendary movement – the Lemania 5100. Add to the mix an iconic dial design, handset and sublime high acrylic crystal.. and, well.. to be honest, there’s not a lot more you’d want from a watch. Interestingly, Chuck Maddox notes that this was Heuers first use of the Lemania 5100 movement.

Released in c1983, this continued to be available until 1985, so was among the last in the line of the ‘Named’ Heuers. This one has a signed Heuer crown, which I believe is unusual.. in an article by Chuck Maddox, he waxes lyrical about this Lemania driven Carrera, as it was one of his favourite chronographs, being a daily wearer for him. He writes that they do not have a signed crown – whereas my example does.. maybe it is a late model, or the crown was fitted as that was all that was left, who knows, but I’m not going to worry about a Heuer signed crown.

Article on the Carrera Lemania 5100 by Chuck Maddox.

This model was available in two variations, this one with the PVD finish, and the stainless steel model (510.523), which had polished sides and a sunburst brush finish to the upper case.. this is now on my hit list too.

Seen here in the Heuer 1983 Catalogue, and the 1984/5 catalogue via On The Dash.

Carrera 510.511 PVD

Written by Heuerville

April 21, 2012 at 7:23 pm

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Is this watch for sale ?
    Marc A MELLINO

    MELLINO

    April 25, 2012 at 8:44 am

  2. Where can I get a strap like that one? It is really cool!

    Henry

    October 1, 2012 at 2:00 am

  3. […] really enjoyed the PVD version of this model, so jumped at the chance of trying the stainless version. There is something alluring […]

  4. Brilliant article. I found it because I’m about, with a heavy heart, to sell mine (funding needed for new motorcycle). It’s exactly this model, in PVD. 1983. Beautiful condition, on an inexpensive black rally strap in leather but I also have the original Heuer PVD bracelet. I’m not a member of watch sites as I’m not much of a buyer and seller of watches, and would like to avoid eBay madness, but will orobably get a friend to list it somewhere for me. I have absolutely no idea what it’s worth though. I bought it from a watch dealer in London about two years ago. Anyway, thanks for the useful reading and now I’ve found it, I’ll explore back posts too. Lovely blog.

    thatoscarindia

    October 6, 2014 at 10:37 am

    • Hi there. I’m after a 510-523… As I have a bike!! … Do you still have?

      Chris

      October 11, 2014 at 12:46 pm

  5. Hi,
    I purchased my Carrera 510.511 new in 1986, still ware it occasionally definitely not for sale. To throw some light on the Heuer signed crown, mine had a plain crown when I purchased it. Some time later I returned the watch to LVMH the Heuer agents in the UK for a service. They replaced the crown and pushers to restore the water tight seals, the replacement crown much to my delight has the Heuer logo and is of course PVD black.
    Mick

    Mick Miller

    June 11, 2016 at 8:11 pm


Leave a Reply

