Heuerville

Vintage Heuer / TAG Heuer watches, and a few others. Plus Handmade straps..

Heuer Carrera 510.523 Lemania 5100

with 20 comments

Heuer Carrera 510.523

Heuer Carrera 510.523, Lemania 5100, c1983

I really enjoyed the PVD version of this model, so jumped at the chance of trying the stainless version. There is something alluring about the L5100 driven Heuers, they ooze rugged tool watch vibes. This Carrera model doing so without being oversized. It’s comfortable at 38mm across and it’s slender profile. As I have mentioned before when talking about the PVD model, this Carrera is surprisingly well balanced and comfortable, plus seems to suit many strap types – shark-mesh, NATO, leather, bracelet. (Pic above with aftermarket Hadley Roma bracelet)

Released in c1983, this was among the last in the line of the Heuers.. with TAG Heuer running down Heuer signed stock. It was also the last ‘Carrera’ signed model under Heuer (together with the PVD version). It has the ‘Autavia-esk’ sunburst graining to the upper case surface with polished sides. The Carrera is in the spotlight right now with the 50th Anniversary being this year, and this more modern model seems to get overlooked… maybe it’s because they aren’t that common, but it’s a pleasure to wear.

More reading here: http://chronomaddox.com/heuer/articles/carrera_article/_carrera_pt4.html

Seen in these catalogue on OTD…
1983 Catalogue
/  1984-5 catalogue

Carrera 510.523

Carrera 510.523

Carrera 510.523

Carrera L5100's

Carrera 510.523

Carrera Lemania 5100's

Written by Heuerville

December 26, 2013 at 4:33 pm

20 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. agreed, Stew… these are beautiful, elegant and very wearable chronographs… and they look great on a variety of straps… and I love the high-dome acrylic too! very glad I held on to mine 😉 cheers and Happy New Year!

    Peter

    December 31, 2013 at 5:00 pm

  2. Man is that nice. Is that GMT? Thanks for showing these awesome pieces.

    Antoniopd

    January 6, 2014 at 4:29 am

    • Not a GMT, the ‘aeroplane wing’ orange hand is the minute chrono counter.

      Heuerville

      January 6, 2014 at 6:36 am

  3. Gosh these are beautiful… a bit out of my league but something to aspire to. May I ask how big they wear? I’ve pored over specs but have a suspicion they wear a bit different to the quoted specs given the 15mm (?) thickness. Thanks for posting the lovely photos.

    Ben

    January 16, 2014 at 9:07 am

    • Ben, they wear really well.. the case has a fairly low profile, it’s the domed crystal that adds to the total thickness.
      They tend to wear bigger.. as it is bezel-less.. so despite being under 40mm, the actual dial size is larger than a lot of big divers.

      Heuerville

      January 16, 2014 at 9:59 am

  4. Thanks, that was my guess. I have to say I think it’s one of the best-looking Lemania 5100s out there. That and the EZM1. And Sinn 140/142. And errrr…. well they’re all nice really, the central-chrono hands just look so great. The only thing I’d prefer is 22mm lugs rather than 20mm… which I believe is the case with the also-beautiful Omega 176.007. I found a helpful size comparison via a WUS thread linking to these two photos:
    http://s116.photobucket.com/user/eptaz/media/dimensions/carrera.jpg.html
    http://s116.photobucket.com/user/eptaz/media/dimensions/seamaster.jpg.html

    Ben

    January 17, 2014 at 5:43 am

  5. Gorgeous shots Stu
    Beautifully presented
    I have mine in stainless on a black nylon tropic band
    These are a lovely carrera case, with a great style and the omnipresent 5100 aesthetic for the dial

    Sandy Zalstein

    April 19, 2014 at 5:32 am

  6. I am after one if anyone knows whereabouts..?

    Chris

    June 16, 2014 at 1:03 pm

    • If you are still looking for a 510.523 Carrera. I have one for sale New unworn

      Patrick J

      June 26, 2015 at 8:40 pm

      • Hi
        Yes I am still looking,
        Regards
        Steve

        Steve Buckland

        June 27, 2015 at 6:47 am

      • Thanx but I found one a few months ago… They are beautiful. I would keep hold of it as they will only appreciate..:-)

        barnslett

        June 27, 2015 at 9:00 am

      • Found one on original Heuer strap and clasp a fee months ago. They really are a beautiful combination of movement and design. I would hold on to it if possible as it can only appreciate…

        barnslett

        June 27, 2015 at 9:05 am

  7. I’m looking for a lemania 5100 balance for my Porsche watch
    Can you let me know where I could get one
    Thanks

    Steve

    October 11, 2014 at 8:00 am

    • I’m afraid I don’t know Steve. You could try this.. I’m pretty sure the 5100 shares a lot of component parts with an Omega movement – can’t remember which reference.. that might get you somewhere.

      Heuerville

      October 11, 2014 at 11:56 am

      • Thanks for your comments
        I can’t believe they are almost non existent
        Anyone else, please let me know
        Steve

        Steve

        October 11, 2014 at 12:02 pm

  8. Hi
    I’m looking for the lemania 5100 balance or the full balance cock if this helps,

    Steve Buckland

    June 27, 2015 at 6:50 am

  9. Hi, any idea if anyone is selling a heuer carerra 510.523. I realise this was posted a while back, regards Steve french_steven@ymail.com

    Steven French

    November 2, 2021 at 11:43 pm

    • No idea Steve, good luck with your search

      Heuerville

      November 3, 2021 at 10:28 am

      • Dear Heuer ville, I do still own mine, but I’m keeping it for the time Being.

        Kind regards Chris

        >

        Chris

        November 3, 2021 at 12:18 pm


Leave a comment