Heuerville

Vintage Heuer / TAG Heuer watches, and a few others. Plus Handmade straps..

Omega Speedmaster Pro ‘Moonwatch’ 3570.50

with 26 comments

Omega Speedmaster Professional ‘Moonwatch’ 3570.50.  2001

What? an Omega. Yes, my first, and I love it. Maybe it was a subliminal message, as I spent two weeks glued to the 2012 Olympics, obviously sponsored by Omega. I really wanted a modern bulletproof watch for day-to-day wearing that had a vintage look, and the Speedy fitted the bill perfectly. I’m really smitten by it, it’s such a classic design. I know that amongst us watch hounds, the Speedy isn’t exactly new, but maybe familiarity breeds contempt. As someone who focuses pretty much exclusively on vintage Heuers, this is a real eye-opener for me. It’s a beautiful design, the case is just sublime. The size, weight and feel is perfect. If you wanted one watch, that does pretty much everything, you can’t really go wrong. Dump the bracelet, get a nice leather strap, and it has classic vintage looks – what more do you want!

Here are the stats, which I’m sure any self respecting watch nut is fully aware of..
2001 model.. Calibre 1861, rhodiumplated, “fausses côtes” decoration, 18 jewels, straight-line lever escapement, monometallic balance, shock absorber, self-compensating flat balance spring.

Below is a photo of my Speedy with a reflection of Neil Armstrong and Old Glory on the Moon, which I took as a salute to him on the day of his funeral. God Speed Neil.

Written by Heuerville

September 15, 2012 at 8:09 pm

Posted in Non-Heuer

Tagged with ,

26 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice pictures! Where can I find a leather strap like this? Thanks,

    Foro de Relojes

    September 16, 2012 at 6:20 pm

    • Thanks. I made the strap.. I’m planning on launching a range of hand made ‘Heuerville Straps’, so keep an eye on my blog!

      Heuerville

      September 16, 2012 at 6:26 pm

      • Great idea! I have the blog in my feed reader, and I do not miss any new post.

        Foro de Relojes

        September 16, 2012 at 6:41 pm

  2. […] Then I spotted a ‘Mitsukoshi’ custom conversion on a website & dug a little deeper. I loved the look of it and sourced a handset, dial, and a Speedy watch. The conversion was fairly straight forward, my watch guy making short work of the parts swap. Click here to see the original regular Speedmaster that I bought. […]

  3. Hi heuerville. I enjoy your writing. I have looked into your twitter account but there isn’t any info on how to order these straps. I’d really want one for my Speedmaster.

    Vasuri

    March 22, 2013 at 7:34 pm

    • Hi Vasuri, Sorry for the delay, I have been away on vacation. I am in the process of sorting out a little online shop. Any further news will be Tweeted.

      Heuerville

      April 9, 2013 at 2:57 am

      • Hi again,
        I am still really interested in the straps. How do we proceed? Still no email from you.
        Cheers

        Vasuri

        October 25, 2014 at 12:03 pm

  4. Great pics, love your work. I have now added Heuerville to my favorites. I would love to get one of your straps for my Speedy Pro when they are available.

    Keep up the great work.

    Shannon

    June 9, 2013 at 4:22 am

  5. How can I order this exact color strap for my speedy?

    Mary

    August 22, 2014 at 4:08 pm

  6. I would also love this strap for mine please, please contact me for details….

    Paul Rothlisberger

    October 24, 2014 at 11:59 pm

  7. Heuerville – I like the strap you have on on the Moowatch. Although I do not have this watch yet, I plan to purchase one soon online. Can you provide me more information on your strap please?

    TA

    October 26, 2014 at 4:11 am

  8. Hi Stewart – please resend the email again. I seem to have deleted your email response by mistake. Thank you.

    TA

    October 26, 2014 at 7:04 pm

  9. Hi! Would like to buy this strap. Pls mail me.

    Sven Kruithof

    November 4, 2014 at 8:09 pm

  10. […] the quintessential of watch straps of that era, a very cool looking thing whether you have an Omega, Heuer, Memosail or even a bygone brand who were big at the […]

  11. Interested in buying this strap. Please send me your offer. thx!

    Serge

    January 27, 2015 at 7:33 pm

  12. Love the strap on this watch. Like it so much I am actually going to be getting a 3570. Are you able to make a strap like this but one that will fit the oem deployment buckle?

    Mark

    February 25, 2015 at 3:59 am

  13. Great combination!
    Is this the Terracotta Version?

    Jo

    April 7, 2015 at 11:06 pm

    • No, this is a leather that I no longer have, but Terracotta and Mustang Oiled are very close.

      Heuerville

      April 7, 2015 at 11:17 pm

  14. Great straps – love the terracotta and would love one for my speed master moon recently received handed down to me.

    Peter Alexander

    April 25, 2015 at 1:33 pm

  15. This is a dazzling combo – the Speedmaster looks great on any strap (leather, NATO, etc) but it absolutely shines on this strap.

    Who am I kidding? The Speedmaster dazzles on any of the beautiful Heuerville straps – terracotta, bluestone, mustang etc etc

    DokDoom

    April 26, 2015 at 5:06 pm

  16. […] lijkt ook zo raar. Maar rond Jeroen zijn verjaardag kwam er ineens een idee. Geïnspireerd op een voorganger die ook dit oude horloge tot een uniek horloge heeft gemaakt. De tijd was […]


Leave a Reply

