Heuerville

Vintage Heuer / TAG Heuer watches, and a few others. Plus Handmade straps..

Rolex Submariner 5513

with 9 comments

Rolex Submariner 5513

Rolex Submariner 5513, Gloss dial/WGS, 1986

Yes.. I’ve officially joined the ‘Dark Side’, as the Heueristas call it! Allow me to explain myself..
I’ve never really been a big Rolex fan, mainly because the things are so damn expensive. I’m not saying I don’t think they are superb watches.. but they are mighty pricey for a dive watch. I suppose I’ve been spoiled for choice being a Heuer nut.. not long ago you could pick up a Heuer diver for relatively little outlay – even an automatic variant.

For a while now I’ve fancied getting a Sub (or a Snowflake), something that was old school, but not too old, as I want something actually usable – that can take knocks and not worry about water tightness. A few months ago I snapped up a 16800 with a matt dial, as it was a decent price. I tried to bond with it.. but I’ll be honest.. I really didn’t get on with it. I would go as far to say, I hated it – maybe I expected more.. whatever reason it wasn’t for me. I moved it swiftly on to a friend who fancied it and I was glad to see the back of it. Then a fellow Heuer fan (Peter) posted a pic of his newly acquired gloss dial 5513 with white gold surrounds (WGS) on the hour plots, and I thought it looked great. So, a few beers and an internet hunt led me to well known Rolex good-guy Jacek at HQ Milton.. a few emails later and it was mine. a short delay followed while it was at serviced by HQ Miltons watchmaker and I’ll be honest.. I was having a serious case of buyers regret, but a deals a deal, so I paid up. Fast forward several weeks and freshly back from a full service, it arrived yesterday.

I was blown away when I freed it from it’s bubble wrap.. it is stunning, a world away from that 16800 I disliked so much. It really is sublime. I know the Rolex aficionados hanker after the non-WGS matt dial models.. not me.. I think this is one of the nicest – I’m not drawn in by the rarity factor of the sought after double reds etc – I think this one is just right for me.

It’s an ’86 model, serial 974xxxx with a 1520 hacking movement. The bracelet is a 93150 with 580 endlinks. The lume is just turning a light cream, the clean design of the no-date deep black gloss dial is stunning, and as much as I tried in the photos, there is the very faintest of a spider webbing when viewed at just the right angle.. it looks like a faint elevation map of a group of islands, 99.9% of the time it’s not visible. I love the way the whole dial and the WGS and hnds catch the light.. and that plexi – it is simply stunning. I tried it on a dark grey NATO.. and it looks great.. I also tried it on one of my Heuerville straps – I know, leather on a sub is ‘wrong’, but I like it!!!

So, here it is.. a 5513.. my perfect Sub.. that plexi, that clean no-date gloss dial.. I think it’s gonna hang around longer than the 16800.

Also, thanks to the boys over at HQ Milton for a smooth deal.

With some of it’s stable mates.. TAG Heuer Spirotechnique and  Heuer 844 Monnin..

Written by Heuerville

February 23, 2013 at 5:15 pm

Posted in Non-Heuer

Tagged with , , ,

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Congratulations Stewart! HQ Milton is where I regularly source my vintage Rolex pieces. Should you ever need someone to check out a piece in person from Jacek, please shoot me a note. Please feel free to PM me (thank you btw for you help in sourcing that Autavia many months ago). Looking forward to purchasing Heuervill straps someday! – Alex

    Alex Wang

    February 24, 2013 at 6:06 am

  2. I really like the clean uncluttered look of the non-date subs, LOVELY piece and great strap-combinations.

    SuperSwede

    February 24, 2013 at 2:26 pm

  3. Really stunning look Congratulations,I am big fan of vintage Rolex pieces.They have stylish shade and a lot of functions, which makes it worth your money

    james

    March 20, 2013 at 6:52 am

  4. No my friend, you’ve finally come to your senses. And those photos are absolutely amazing. You’ve managed to capture the beauty of that Sub in every shot. Great job! If you need any information on Rolex for future articles, feel free to visit Bob’s Watches. We’d be happy to help a fellow Rolex enthusiast.

    Paul Altieri

    March 25, 2015 at 5:50 pm

  5. Picking up an old post here – but where did you get the strap for that 844? I have an 844/5 but finding decent Oysterflex style straps is difficult. (unless I buy cheap chinese ones from ebay!)

    JBB

    January 30, 2020 at 10:40 pm

    • JBB, I’ve no idea which strap you are referring to, as this is a post about a Submariner.

      Heuerville

      January 31, 2020 at 12:57 pm


Leave a comment