Heuerville

Vintage Heuer / TAG Heuer watches, and a few others. Plus Handmade straps..

Heuer AMI 1000 Series 510.543

with 5 comments

Heuer Aeronautica Militare Italiana (AMI) 1000 Series 510.543 (Civilian)

I can’t quite believe I’ve managed to get my grubby paws on this beauty. As Jeff Stein says over on OTD, “This is one of Heuer’s “cult” watches — collectors chase them for years; they appear suddenly and vanish even more quickly”.

This isn’t actually an issued watch – hence why it says ‘Civilian’, it was custom for a prolific collector known to most Heueristas (Davis D). Built using an identical case from Sinn, that was used in the factory Heuer AMI’s. It was professionally overhauled, case back was stripped of the SInn markings, given a circular brush effect, and had NOS AMI dial, handset, pushers, crown and seals, plus a completely overhauled movement. Ok, technically it’s a franken to the purist, but I couldn’t care less.. it’s ice cool. The only notable difference is that the day/date is English black on white instead of Italian white on black, but I have seen another AMI with black on white – so I’m not sure about that being a ‘rule’. I’ve fitted it on the bracelet from my Super Professional, which suits it perfectly and fits like a glove. The head isn’t massive, it’s not as big as the Heuer 510.50X series, but is wonderfully shaped, and I prefer the brush effect to the factory bead blasted finish.

I have to admit, I don’t know the full history behind these watches, but one thing is certain, they are rare and very hard to come by.
Clearly built for the Italian Air Force, or ‘Aeronautica Militare Italiana’, they seem to come from around 1982-4. It’s part of Heuer ‘1000 Series’ of Lemania 5100 driven models, all with a similar design. The dial features the AMI initials & wings, and the 3H symbol often seen on military watches. I believe that this is a military symbol to indicate Tritium in the lume, with H-3 being the chemical symbol (hydrogen-3 isotope).

Further reading about the Lemania 5100 driven Heuers can be found on Caliber 11 here.

Written by Heuerville

November 27, 2011 at 10:58 am

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good day Sir,
    I am a pilot in the Italian Air Force and have been looking for this watch for a while…wondering if it is on sale or not. It would mean a lot to me.

    Sincerely

    Jonathan

    jonathan

    October 7, 2013 at 7:29 pm

    • Hi Jonathan, I’m afraid it isn’t for sale.

      Heuerville

      October 7, 2013 at 7:33 pm

      • hello I’ve got one … do you have an idea about a its quotation ?

        marcello

        December 6, 2014 at 10:01 pm

  2. Are you willing to sell this? I would love to make an offer. Please let me know! Thanks!!

    Eric

    June 12, 2015 at 2:21 am

    • Oddly enough Eric, I advertised this last week.. unfortunately it is going to a new home tomorrow – sorry.

      Heuerville

      June 12, 2015 at 2:23 am


Leave a Reply

