Heuerville

Vintage Heuer / TAG Heuer watches, and a few others. Plus Handmade straps..

Heuer Diver 980.021 Two Tone

with 24 comments

Heuer 980.021. Two-tone 42mm oversized case. C1985

I have already featured this particular watch, a long time ago, when this blog was in it’s infancy.. you can see the posting here, I was simply going to simply update the old post, but I think this tough old-timer deserves a brand new posting, as the transformation is impressive, especially as it has been such a workhorse.. it was bought new in c1985 in the US and was used as a dive watch for over 10 years and worn daily for 16 years.

I decided to sell a NOS case that I had, an all-gold Analogue-Digital diver model, but with no interest, I sacrificed it for this 980.021. The bezel was carefully removed, which wasn’t easy, as it was so tight on the case, being NOS. The risk of damaging it was high, so I had to tread carefully.

Some time back, I spent many evenings sorting the case out, making sure I didn’t dull any edges. Then it was off to my watchmaker (Thanks James) for a new glass and crown. Since then it has sat unloved in the back of a drawer with its tired looking bezel. As the ani-digi diver and the ‘021’ share the same bezel, it was a simple snap on fit, and the result is beyond what I thought.. it now looks the business. Yes, technically it should have a gold plate crown, I do have one, but I like it the way it is right now, so I’m just going to enjoy it.

And here is a before shot..

Written by Heuerville

April 16, 2012 at 11:04 am

24 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have the same watch and also used it for YEARS… If I were to want to restore it where would I begin to get that information….

    Joseph Marle

    June 28, 2012 at 11:31 am

    • Joseph, This isn’t a straight forward job. As far as I know, TAG Heuer don’t carry the spares for these anymore, so any parts that would need replacing would need to be sourced from the second hand market, and this can get expensive, as they are sought after and thin on the ground. It is also dependant on what needs restoring, if it if the case, this can be refinished; glass can be replaced. You’re best bet it to head over to http://www.chronocentric.com/forums/heuer/ to glean more information, as often there isn’t a one-stop restorer that can do everything.

      Heuerville

      June 28, 2012 at 12:10 pm

      • I have managed to obtain hands and a new sapphire crystal…. My jeweler is working on it as we get parts. He is also replacing the crown and tube… My next hurdle is the bezel and the bezel insert… I have been able to fine the insert on ebay, and I managed to find parts of the original bracelet with the clasp in my gear. My next step is to find the bezel…. Again this one looks great…

        JM

        onedogtwodog

        August 1, 2012 at 2:16 pm

      • Great work.. I admire your drive to get it restored.

        Heuerville

        August 1, 2012 at 2:18 pm

  2. The case is in good shape… the bracelet I have replaced long ago the original falling victim to numerous salt waster immersions… I still have the center piece to the bracelet marked Heuer… The movement need to be looked at as the screw down crown is loose and the hands do not adjust anymore the date does adjust though…. There is a reputable watch maker/ service shop near where I live… He fixed my Citizen Skyhawk bracelet a few years ago… another casualty of extended salt water immersion… I think I spend too much time under water… The crystal shows wear however is in good condition for a 25 year old watch… The bezel looks like the one from your before pictures and the phosphorescence on the hands need to be replaced… The watch you restored looks beautiful…. I am hoping to put mine back together… as it was a gift from my parents when I graduated high school…. I used it extensively for years and was very sad when the band links gave way… I just “found” it when I was cleaning out my catch all box and was happy when I saw the restoration of the watch on this blog… thanks for the info and I’ll keep you posted on my progress..

    JM

    Joseph Marle

    July 1, 2012 at 11:00 pm

  3. Hi. Just got this model and I was wondering where to have it restored to new state and the cost. Thanks

    Michael

    April 4, 2013 at 10:42 am

  4. Where did you get the bezel insert for this. Can I get one to order.

    Michael

    April 13, 2013 at 6:47 am

    • Michael,
      As stated in the text that accompanies the photos, the bezel was salvaged off a NOS ani-digi case that shares the same bezel.
      Parts aren’t available off the shelf, you will need to find them on the second-hand market, or find a donor watch. As for restoring and cost, there isn’t a ‘one stop’ place that can do this – the cost is entirely what you have to pay on ebay/watch forums etc for the parts – if you can find them.

      Heuerville

      April 13, 2013 at 8:54 am

  5. Hi. Like this a lot. What is an ani digi diver
    Model. Need a new bezel and insert for
    a heuer 98 021. Thanks

    Michael

    April 24, 2013 at 1:41 pm

    • Thanks for the reply. Only just read it.
      Will keep a look for parts. Thanks

      Michael

      April 24, 2013 at 1:45 pm

    • Michael.. I’ve already replied to your question.. see above.

      Heuerville

      April 24, 2013 at 1:45 pm

      • Hi. Do you know of anywhere else I could get the parts I need. Bezel and insert. Looked all over eBay and the net. Thanks

        Michael

        April 24, 2013 at 2:13 pm

      • Apart from what I have said above, nope.

        Heuerville

        April 24, 2013 at 8:02 pm

  6. stu I get a lot of joy looking at this restored piece.
    Highly evocative
    Very 80s

    I wonder if you can recall the make of oyster replacement band? Maybe where you got it from?
    Cheers

    Sandy Zalstein

    April 21, 2014 at 3:16 am

    • Hi Sandy – thanks for your kind words.
      I can’t remember who exactly made the oyster bracelet, but aftermarket bracelets designed for the old Rolex Subs (5513, 1680) fit very well. So if you hunt around on ebay, you’ll find many for sale, ranging from very cheap, to some more expensive higher quality bracelets.

      Heuerville

      April 21, 2014 at 10:21 am

      • Thanks for that

        Sandy Zalstein

        April 23, 2014 at 1:40 pm

  7. For the benefit of anyone following on, I’ve bough a 980.021 to restore, and I’ve found a place on ebay thats worth looking at for parts
    http://stores.shop.ebay.com/WholesaleOutlet990
    Good luck all

    Sandy Zalstein

    April 23, 2014 at 11:11 pm

    • Sandy
      Please note that they aren’t genuine parts, but more importantly; and despite certain descriptions, I’m 99.9% sure that the inserts advertised as fitting the 980.021 series (or any of the oversized Divers), do not fit.

      Heuerville

      April 23, 2014 at 11:18 pm

  8. Noted and thanks
    Caveat emptor as with all things in the watch game….

    Sandy Zalstein

    April 24, 2014 at 11:52 am

  9. hello I wanted to know if you can create the same bezel black and gold for my 980 021 obviously paying a good price

    Lorenzo

    March 1, 2015 at 10:25 am

    • Lorenzo, I’m not sure what you’re saying, but I didn’t make the bezel, it was a NOS part. I can’t ‘create’ one.

      Heuerville

      March 1, 2015 at 10:32 am

  10. How is insert bezel i need it replace in watch pls tell size bezel part

    Warut

    August 23, 2016 at 5:40 am


Leave a Reply

