Heuerville

Vintage Heuer / TAG Heuer watches, and a few others. Plus Handmade straps..

Heuer Night Diver 980.032L Full Lume Dial

with 16 comments

Heuer Night Diver 980.032L

Heuer Night Diver 980.032L Full Lume Dial, c1984, 200m, 42mm.

Regular readers might know that I’ve blogged about this model before, but given the extraordinary condition of this one, I couldn’t resist posting about it.

My Heuer collecting started with the quartz divers, and very early on I picked up one of these, they were pretty cheap back then. It wasn’t perfect, but I loved it. As I moved onto the chronographs, the divers took a back seat and I eventually sold it. I’m sure I did pick another up, but again, it was sold in favour of funding a chrono.

Over the last year or so, I’ve reduced the collection, and come full circle back to some of the divers – funny how collectors minds work! Only problem is that they are a bit more expensive these days.. but still, compared to most of the chronos, they are bargains.

I picked this one up from a US seller around a year ago. The dial and handset were in remarkable condition. These dials are highly susceptible to picking up stains & blemishes, so I was pretty damn lucky to bag this one. However, the case and bezel were showing signs of use, but I still loved it. Then another stroke of luck – I got the opportunity to get my hands on a near NOS case & bezel.. (thanks Steve). So off it went to my trusty watch guy (thanks James) and along with a new crystal it now looks near factory fresh. One thing I did have fitted was a black glass gasket. The original gaskets are a semi-transparent white colour. I have to say, it really has made a big difference, it ties in with the dial markers perfectly.

For those interested in the technical specs.. the watch is classed as a 42mm case, however with the crown, it’s around 44mm. Being the ‘L’ model, it is thinner than the earlier 980.032, and the bezel is slightly recessed in the case. It’s slim for a dive watch and I actually prefer it to the non ‘L’ model – it sits perfectly on the wrist. I do like chunky dive watches, but it’s rare to get a slim watch these days. Other differences are a signed crown, and signed caseback, oh and ‘1000’ on the dial. The movement is slimmer too – hence Heuers move to a slimmer case.

The dial is a wonder.. indoors it is pale yellow, but out in daylight is when it comes alive, it glows a yellowy-lime green.. and when ‘charged’ at night it still lumes bright green. I’d take a lume shot, but I’m terrible at them, and my camera is a basic model. I’ve come to the conclusion that I’m very much a ‘black dial’ person, but this makes a nice change and despite its ‘Night Diver’ origins, it’s a wonderful ‘daylight’ watch!

Written by Heuerville

December 25, 2015 at 11:16 pm

16 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Stewart! Have one of these in pewter, the 981.106 model. For some odd reason the bezel insert is all gray (ie: no numbers or anything) – any idea why this is so? Suspect a previous owner may have had it done. Regardless – great article!

    DCVW

    December 25, 2015 at 11:29 pm

  2. Stewart, this really is beautiful. And i know about your comment re collectors mindsets and coming full circle! Have done that myself on a couple of occasions. Best wishes, Paul.

    Paul Hyde

    December 25, 2015 at 11:30 pm

    • Paul, yeah – I think we all chase the ‘bigger & better’ models.. but sometimes it takes time to realise that isn’t always what you really like to wear.
      Thankfully for my wallet, my favourite Heuers happen to be reasonably priced models!

      Heuerville

      December 25, 2015 at 11:39 pm

  3. I was browsing the net a few days back regarding the 844 and naturally came across your site, very informative by the way…and when seeing the Night Diver I just fell for it! Absolutely stunning, cool and casual style …I just loved it! For me I connected it to my boating-life…summertime in the archipelago we have just outside our doorstep here in Stockholm.
    So “a need to have” feeling svept over me and for 2-3 days I have scanned…it feels like, the whole internet 🙂
    They are hard to come by, specially the L version. Anyway I got lucky as one in good condition was recently posted on eBay …and I grabbed it 🙂
    I will post photos when it arrives in a couple of weeks.

    Jeremy

    April 18, 2017 at 1:57 pm

  4. I own the same watch but it is in need of repair.
    Tag tells me parts are no longer available.
    Any idea where I might find someone who could take a look at it and possibly fix?

    Gord Harris

    June 26, 2017 at 12:47 pm

  5. I have one of these for sale, open to offers.

    Phil church

    November 1, 2017 at 7:33 pm

    • How do we contact you?

      DCVW

      November 1, 2017 at 10:35 pm

    • Do you have more details ?

      Raph h

      November 11, 2017 at 11:14 pm

    • Avalaible ? Would you please give some details ? Thx

      Raph h

      November 30, 2017 at 10:10 pm

    • I’m looking for a Heuer 980.032 – Would be glad about offers …

      Chris

      August 24, 2018 at 10:37 pm

  6. Hi Stewart,
    There is a difference with the 980.113L?
    what is the caliber of the 980.113.L?
    Thank you
    Eric

    Eric

    November 30, 2018 at 1:53 pm

    • Eric, the 980.113L has a smaller case. I don’t know which movement it has.

      Heuerville

      November 30, 2018 at 2:32 pm

      • Ok, thanks

        Eric

        November 30, 2018 at 3:05 pm


Leave a comment