Heuerville

Vintage Heuer / TAG Heuer watches, and a few others. Plus Handmade straps..

TAG Heuer 273.006-1 / 2000 Series

with 41 comments

TAG Heuer 273.006-1 Chrono / 2000 Series. c1986-90

Some of you might think I’m posting the same watch again, as this is the twin brother of the 273.306 Tachy I posted a few weeks ago. It’s essentially identical, but has a minute bezel instead of a tachy bezel. Nicely sized, at a width of 41mm, these 2000’s sit nicely on the wrist and have quiet a low profile. They are extremely well made too, with the factory beadblasted case, crown and pushers are very tool-like. Originally designed under Heuer, these black & silver dialed 2000 series chronographs are quite stunning when studied closely, especially when offset with creamy lume like this one. The ‘-1’ signifies that this was either a very early or very late version, most probably identical, but this is a common theme throughout the Heuer/TAG Heuer range when the model numbers were transitioned over from Heuer.

This model also featured the ‘super-quartz’ Calibre. 185 movement – it uses the Dubois Depraz 2000 chronograph module mated with a quartz engine.

It can be seen in the 1990 TAG Heuer catalogue on OTD. The model to the left in the catalogue (273.206) is identical but with a part polished case & bracelet.

Written by Heuerville

November 13, 2011 at 5:02 pm

Posted in TAG Heuer

Tagged with

41 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Can you help me identify the model number of this quartz Pre Tag Heuer?

    Thanks in advance.

    http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/842/img0845r.jpg/

    Rolf Essmann

    November 22, 2011 at 3:46 pm

    • Most probably a 273.006 or 273.206. It’s probably written on the caseback.

      Heuerville

      November 22, 2011 at 3:55 pm

  2. Hey Stewart,
    I have a 273.206 inbound and would like to get a black strap like the one you have pictured. Do you know what size the lugs are on this? Thanks in advance!
    Dave

    Dave

    May 18, 2013 at 6:24 pm

  3. Hi, thank you very much for all your reviews.!!! fantastic website. I found an automatic version of this watch (2000 automatic professional 200 meters) but with tachy bezel (same as 276.206), does it exist or is it a fake? thank you very much in advance,
    Luciano.-

    Lvcivs

    June 28, 2013 at 11:12 pm

    • Hi Lvcivs,
      Most of the quartz versions were available as autos, usually they have the same model number, but with a ‘1’ at the start instead of ‘2’.
      As to if what you have found is a fake – highly unlikely, but I obviously can’t tell without any detailed material.

      Heuerville

      June 28, 2013 at 11:22 pm

      • Hi, I finally bought the 276.306 but I noticed that it is not black, it is like some dark grey (petrol); is it normal? By the way it does not have the original bracelet, do you know where to get the metallic one? thank you very much and have a nice day!
        Lvcivs.-

        Lvcivs

        July 12, 2013 at 8:34 am

      • I’m not entirely sure which model the 276.306 is, so can’t comment. Have you got the correct number?

        Heuerville

        July 12, 2013 at 9:00 am

      • Sorry the right number is 173.306

        Lvcivs

        July 12, 2013 at 9:21 am

      • So, just for clarification – it is the Auto version of this: http://www.onthedash.com/Guide/_Catalogs/1984_Chronograph_Catalog/57.jpg
        So, when you say that you notice it is not black, do you mean the dial?? – I’m a bit confused here as to what you are saying?
        Please be more specific.

        Heuerville

        July 12, 2013 at 9:34 am

      • Thank you very much, it is the same at the one you sent me in the link, but with gray dial and gray bezel and branded Tag Heuer not only Heuer. Thank you in advance.

        lvcivs

        July 12, 2013 at 10:15 am

      • Ah, ok.. well, I’m guessing that the dial and bezel has some well earned sun-fading to it, which is fairly common with some Heuer black dials/bezels.

        Heuerville

        July 12, 2013 at 10:24 am

      • Ah!! I thought I could be fake! Thank you again for everything, it is fantastic to find a professional website with such passion!! By the way, grey, black or Blue canvas strap? Thank you!!

        lvcivs

        July 12, 2013 at 11:24 am

      • No problem, and I’d go for a grey strap!

        Heuerville

        July 12, 2013 at 12:44 pm

  4. Can you tell me the difference between a 273 006/1 and a 273 206/1 which is the serial number of my watch. It looks exactly as those in the pics so I am interested to know what the difference is thanks.

    Paul mardon

    July 7, 2014 at 3:22 pm

    • The difference is described in the article above!

      Heuerville

      July 7, 2014 at 4:05 pm

      • Spotted that after I sent the email. Dooooh!!!! Can you point me towards a good site that provides valuations for Tags? Just interested how much my 2000 is now worth. Cheers.

        Paul mardon

        July 7, 2014 at 5:16 pm

  5. Paul, I don’t know any specific sites for valuing. Maybe try checking chrono24.com for a similar model.

    Heuerville

    July 7, 2014 at 6:06 pm

  6. Hi I have this watch and have owned it for 20 years but now looking to upgrade do you know where would be the best place to advertise it to sell. Thanks for you help

    Steve evans

    November 10, 2014 at 8:17 pm

  7. Not certain.. maybe £800, depending on condition.

    Heuerville

    November 11, 2014 at 11:12 am

  8. Hi. Wonder if you might have any advice for me. I have this watch, the 373.006, since new (~ 1987). When it was fully serviced at TAG Heuer in Switzerland a month ago, they replaced the dial with the incorrect one, from a 262.006 (difference is that it has ‘baguettes’, not triangles, on the dial) and they sandblasted the back instead of polishing it. They returned the original dial to me, which I have, in great condition. The problem is that while they acknowledge they replaced it with the incorrect dial, they refuse to replace the original dial with the one that was i the watch. I get that they may not have any old correct dials in stock 25 yrs later, but any thoughts on how to get them to replace the dial with my used one? And, no, they did not ask me for approval before proceeding, but I did approve a full refurbishment of the watch. Very dissappointing, at it looks entirely different with the new dial. Thanks for any advice you may have.

    Paul B

    November 18, 2014 at 3:12 am

    • sorry, that is 273.006. (not 373)

      Paul B

      November 18, 2014 at 3:12 am

      • If anyone is interested I have this model for sale just been serviced and spent £699 having it done I can send pictures. Very reluctant sale as I have had the watch for over 15 years and is part of of me but a new baby on the way has changed my priorities.

        Cpl Evans
        VAHS
        JSU
        COSU
        RAF Akrotiri
        BFPO 57never let me down let me know via email @ steve.310574@yahoo.co.uk

        Steve Evans

        November 18, 2014 at 7:43 am

    • When you say “373.006”, I presume you mean 273.006.
      Any competent watchmaker will be able to switch the dials for you – it is a simple job – hunt down a recommended watch guy to do this for you.

      Heuerville

      November 18, 2014 at 3:21 am

  9. Hello, I have a 273 206 in need of a crystal. I just called & they need to send it to Switzerland to the probable tune of 500. I don’t want to lose it for months or to spend that much. Anyone know where preferably in Phoenix, but at least in the US I can get it fixed?

    S.H.

    February 13, 2015 at 7:42 pm

    • A new mineral glass costs a few bucks – it’s a standard size. Any decent watchmaker should be able to fit one.
      You could try Craig at http://www.chronodeco.com – quite a few Heuer guys use him.

      Heuerville

      February 13, 2015 at 7:46 pm

  10. Thanks!

    S.H.

    February 13, 2015 at 7:52 pm

  11. Is it possible to Change my mineral crystal to sapphire? Any advice would bbe helpfull, I own a ref. 173.006

    Dennis

    February 20, 2016 at 7:06 pm

    • Yes, it’s possible. Any good watchmaker should be able to sort this for you. Sapphire tend to be thinner, so it may be more expensive, but I can’t see any other issue.

      Heuerville

      February 20, 2016 at 7:17 pm

  12. Hello . I have the quartz version of this watch . The stopwatch
    bars are broken and I’ve sent it to Tag Heuer in New Jersey and they sent it to their headquarters in Switzerland . They returned it , unrepaired , explaining to me they don’t have the parts for it any longer . The watch is of sentimental value to me and I’d like to have the stopwatch feature working again. One option I’ve heard of is installing a new movement . If the calibre 185 or the Dubois Depraz 2000 movements are no longer available is there another movement I can have installed? The jeweller I’ve visited told me he could install a brand new Tag Heuer movement , parts and labor, for $300. Its not the money I’m concerned with but the integrity of the parts installed. Any recommendations ? Also . I do some work for a Rolex facility in Queens New York and I’ve mentioned this to them and they told me any Rolex of any year is always supported with parts availability . A nice bit of information to know and I don’t think I’d ever consider a Tag Heuer again soley on my experience with them .Eddie

    Eddie Markovich

    May 7, 2016 at 10:26 pm

    • Eddie
      It’s true that the TAG Heuer Heritage Dept in Switzerland is running out of parts for 30+ year old models, especially quartz based.
      I’d say that $300 for a new movement is a very good option/deal, parts for these are hard to come by, and expensive – and watchmakers don’t like working on them because of the quartz element.
      Side note: IMHO, it’s a little unfair to slate TAG Heuer for not holding parts for this particular model.. it was a time of great innovation, marrying mechanical with quartz, and it was a legacy of Heuers innovation that TAG Heuer inherited. To be fair, if you’d bought a chronograph from Rolex in the mid 80’s, it would have been a Daytona and now worth 10’s of thousands of dollars.. so sure, Rolex could fix this, but it would cost you thousands. So, if TAG Heuer had told you they could fix it for $3000, you probably wouldn’t be happy.. but that’s down to the valuation now – something unknown when they were produced.

      Heuerville

      May 7, 2016 at 10:39 pm

    • I have the same watch, bought new circa 1988, and had a similar issue: the chrono stopped functioning. Two years ago I sent it to ProTime/TagHeuer in NJ. It has made 4, maybe 5, trips to Switzerland since then.

      First, they repaired it perfectly, but replaced the face with an incorrect part (Heuer part, but not this exact model – baguettes as markers, not the little triangles) and sandblasted the back (which for 27 years was polished). Then they refused to switch it back, but after I called Switzerland directly, they took it back and put my old parts (old face, which they had returned) back on it and put a new back on it. Had they asked initially I would have declined those parts as they have nothing to do with the movement, but everything to do with the original look. But they did not ask.

      Then it came back fresh from the second Swiss visit with my old face and a new back, and a new issue: The problem has been for an interaction between the watch and chrono: when you start the chrono, the minute hand jumps forward a minute or two. Keeps time, though. So it has gone back 2-3 times for that issue, and finally they said (my paraphrasing): ‘many of them do that, we can’t fix it, and it’s within spec.’

      Well, no, it is not within spec, but I do believe they can’t fix it.

      In the end, mediocre service and very poor communication, I’ll stay away from them in the future.

      Paul

      May 8, 2016 at 1:31 pm

  13. Hi Heuerville,
    I’ve been a long time follower of your blog – many thanks for highlighting the more obscure models (frequently yours is the sole Google search result, which is saying something).

    I have an incoming Tag 273.206 Quartz Chrono mated to the brilliant Dubois Depraz module (I’ve owned the auto Lemania version before and found the crown position hard to wind and set with the V shaped placement lower than the pushers – I’m hoping the ESA 955 will eliminate the need to fiddle with it except for months with fewer than 30 days)

    I found your post on my model https://heuerville.wordpress.com/2011/11/13/tag-heuer-273-006-1-2000-series/

    …and was wondering if the bezel was as easily removed as with Rolex. (I use a plastic putty knife and my thumbs and it works like a charm.)

    If so, it looks like replacement inserts with a 37mm OD and 32mm ID are available from that ubiquitous EBay guy in Texas. Can you, or any readers, shed some light on what’s underneath the rotating bezel and whether it’s an easy swap (before I mangle my otherwise okay watch).

    Let’s see if this image comes up…you can see the insert issues between 3 and 6 I’d like to address.

    http://s169.photobucket.com/user/rscmaine/media/image_34.jpeg.html

    Email is Nat.parkinson@gmail.com if anyone knows a better source?

    Nathaniel Parkinson

    August 26, 2016 at 7:15 pm

    • Hi Nat
      The insert sits in a trough in the bezel, so it can’t be pushed out from behind. You’ll have to dig it out, usually going through the bezel pip with a small screw driver. This usually results in the insert being mangled. So make sure any replacement will fit before attempting it.
      Removing the bezel is similar to on a Rolex Sub. It’s held in place with a retaining wire. There is another wire that operates the bezel click.
      A sharp knife and a swift twisting motion should pop it off, but sometimes they can be very stubborn. (remember to tape up the case first!)

      Heuerville

      August 26, 2016 at 8:43 pm

  14. I have a Tag Heuer 2000 Automatic Chronograph 173.006 with neither a 1 or 2 after the last digit, is this normal? I have noticed, unlike my 273.006, it doesn’t have a screw down crown, just push in, pull out, is that normal?
    Any help would be much appreciated

    Sloane

    April 3, 2017 at 7:40 am

    • YEs, not have the additional number is OK. I’ve never handled an Auto version, but my instincts tell me that a push-in crown is OK.

      Heuerville

      April 3, 2017 at 12:41 pm

      • Many thanks. Do you know of any links that I can give me more information on this watch, and is it rare?
        Does the push in, pull out crown have a different water resistant system..it seems very risky especially at 200 m…do you think I would be foolish to swim and shower in it?
        Again, any help would be much appreciated

        Sloane

        April 3, 2017 at 9:14 pm

      • There certainly aren’t many 173.006’s around, so I’d say it’s pretty uncommon. I’m not sure about the WR systems, but if seals etc are maintained and pressure tested, there’s no reason not to swim with it.

        Heuerville

        April 3, 2017 at 9:41 pm

      • Many thanks

        Sloane

        April 3, 2017 at 10:34 pm


Leave a Reply

