Heuerville

Vintage Heuer / TAG Heuer watches, and a few others. Plus Handmade straps..

Tudor Submariner 9401/0 Snowflake

with 7 comments

Tudor Submariner Snowflake

Tudor Submariner 9401/0 ‘Snowflake’, 1976

Unfortunately this lovely thing isn’t mine, it was on loan from fellow Heuerista, Paul Gavin aka Heuerworld.com. Paul kindly sent it over to Heuerville towers after a conversation about whether I should hunt one down or go the Rolex Sub route.. more on that in a later post.

This particular no-date example is absolutely stunning.. it’s not totally out-the-box-mint, but in very fine fettle with just the right amount of fading to the bezel and the most sumptuous coffee-creamy patina on the lume. It’s seen here on an aftermarket riveted bracelet, which suits it perfectly. It’s dated to 1976 with serial 84xxxx.

I’ll own up to not knowing a lot about these, all I know is that they are very beautiful to handle. Please correct me if I’m wrong, but I think it shares the same case from a Rolex Sub, I don’t know which model.. I’d hazard a guess at the 5513? The movement is a Cal. 2776 movement, it’s ETA based and modified by Tudor.

As I understand it, the blue dial came about as the black dial had paint issues, moisture could create a defect on the black dial versions that were issued to the French Navy – Marine Nationale, so blue was introduced. I’ve no idea why blue would be better, or the ins and outs, but that’s what I’ve read – could be wrong. These Tudors used to play second fiddle to the Rolex, but in the last few years they have really come into their own, and a good example can easily match or exceed the cost of an equivalent Rolex Sub.. and you can see why, they are quite special.

There is an excellent full blown write-up here…
www.vintagehour.com/2011/10/snowflake-tudor-submariner-icon/

More useful info can be found here:
tudorcollectorsite.blogspot.co.uk/p/submariner-model-94010-94110.html
sweepinghand.co.uk/useful-info/tudor-serial-numbers/

Stupidly, I only took one photo of the Snowflake before sending it back. Doh!

Written by Heuerville

February 23, 2013 at 12:20 pm

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What a stunningly beautiful piece!

    SuperSwede

    February 23, 2013 at 3:02 pm

  2. […] a while now I’ve fancied getting a Sub (or a Snowflake), something that was old school, but not too old, as I want something actually usable – that can […]

  3. thats my vintage grail right there…. magnificent

    Matthew Pearce

    October 12, 2015 at 4:23 am

  4. beautiful! Where did he get the bracelet from? )

    Ben Messner

    February 2, 2016 at 1:47 am

    • I’m unsure.. I had a bunch of oysters that I bought off eBay over the years, and this one was a great fit.. but unfortunately I can’t say which seller it came from – sorry.

      Heuerville

      February 2, 2016 at 1:59 am

      • I am working on a 9401 project and I guess it never hurts to ask. Thanks for the quick answer. I will just have to wear my heuers until the tud gets complete. ))

        Ben Messner

        February 2, 2016 at 2:07 am

      • Ben, Actually.. I got confused.. I thought you were commenting on my black dial Snowflake. This watch (and bracelet) was on loan to me from a friend, so I was mistaken.. still, I don;t know where the bracelet came from – sorry, again!

        Heuerville

        February 2, 2016 at 2:16 am


Leave a Reply

