Heuerville

Vintage Heuer / TAG Heuer watches, and a few others. Plus Handmade straps..

Heuer Autavia 2446C GMT Mk3

with 13 comments

Heuer Autavia 2446C GMT mk3, Valjoux 724, c1969

This is a beautiful early edition to my collection. The large majority of which are mid 70’s to mid 80’s, so it’s nice to get a real old ‘un. This is the Mark 3 version of the manual wind compression cased Autavia GMTs. It is distinguished by its red central chrono hand, polished hands and fluted pushers. The caseback is high polished and blank, the only markings being the small concentric circles positioned right on the edge which indicate where to open the compression case (the ‘C’ references this).

This example has a lot of wonderful wabi to it. It is no safe queen and has clearly been used as a daily wearer, it’s 40+ year existence marked with scratches, fading and tiny scars. This all works beautifully with the sun bleached bezel and creamy sub dials, it is wonderful. I did have the tip of the GMT hand and the hour hands relumed in a vintage hue, as it was almost black and more than likely to flake off. The central red chrono hand had some chips in it, so that was sympathetically touched up. (Many thanks to Jimbo again). It does have marks on the outside of all four lugs, which was a bit baffling, but we reckon it has been in a make-shift case holder at some point of its life, but this only ads to the decades of wear and patina. The observant wil have spotted that the GMT hand is slightly out, so I think it’s about time the old girl gets a well deserved a service, so it’ll be off soon.

The Mk4 version is seen in the 1970/71 catalogues, so this Mk3 can be fairly accurately dated to 1969.
More details are in the OTD Master Reference Table (line D4) and see all the versions in the Photo Library.

Shown below with a NOS tachy bezel, I know it’s incorrect, but it looks great…

Written by Heuerville

February 26, 2012 at 8:22 pm

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Some times i wonder why i comes to this blog, its self inflicted torture, if ever you decided to sell please let me know..

    Dougjim8

    March 10, 2012 at 10:54 pm

  2. Hi there,
    This is a lovely watch in great condition for its age. I own a similar one but uncomplete and I hope to restore it perfectly. I need a red and blue bezel and a handset (hour, minute and GMT hands). I’m open to any reasonable offer…

    Jean

    April 18, 2012 at 2:41 pm

    • Jean, Thanks for the comment. I wish you luck in your endeavour to restore yours. TAG Heuer don’t have any more stock of the bezels left, and they are unbelievably difficult to get hold of, and as such, change hands on the second hand market for large sums. The handsets are a little easier to get hold of, but it is still a mission. I hope you have deep pockets, and good luck.

      Heuerville

      April 18, 2012 at 2:50 pm

      • Hi,
        Thanks for your answer. I have another question : how do you open the case back?

        Jean Mey

        July 12, 2012 at 10:00 am

      • On some (maybe all ‘C’?) models there are feint concentric semi-circles engraved in the edge of the caseback. This points to where it is opened with a case opening knife. If the circles aren’t there, just study the edge of the caseback for a small recess where the knife is inserted.

        Heuerville

        July 12, 2012 at 10:11 am

  3. I’m very glad to have found this post. I have been able to determine that this is the very same model Heuer I bought during my high school senior class trip to the Bahamas in 1973. Easily the best decision I made while there, and one of the few really good ideas I had that year.

    Mine now has the Mk4 hour and minute hands due to a long-needed overhaul performed by TAG Heuer in 2007. But until then, this is exactly what I saw (save for the band) when checking the time for over 34 years.

    I no longer wear my GMT on a daily basis. I occasionally tell myself I should sell it; however, I never seem to get around to that. I must be more sentimental than I give myself credit for.

    moondarter

    May 20, 2012 at 9:05 pm

  4. I have a similar watch that I am interested in selling. It does not have the original band but is in very good condition.

    Steve Miller

    April 5, 2013 at 4:47 pm

    • Hello Steve, I’m looking for a 2446C GMT in a nice condition.
      You still want to sell yours ?
      If yes, please could you send me some pics ?
      That would be great.

      Thanks
      Stefan

      Stefan Reim

      May 12, 2013 at 4:48 pm

  5. I’m looking to purchase an Autavia 2446C GMT MK 4 from a dealer. The watch is in very good condition. There is red overspray on the side of the bezel which concerns me. Was there a production problem with overspray?? Thanks.

    Kirk

    June 7, 2013 at 1:58 am

    • Hi Kirk,
      Hmm.. interesting. I have just picked up a mint (almost like new) example and funnily enough there are some tiny flecks of red on the side of the bezel, in the coin edging. So maybe yours is the same. If it is flecks as opposed to overspray, then that’s probably fine. If not, maybe worth closer inspection. I think it would be extremely difficult to try to restore one of these bezels using a spray technique. As for actual ‘known issues’ during manufacture, I’ve no idea!

      Heuerville

      June 7, 2013 at 8:40 am

  6. Boy, that nos black bezel does look great.

    Larry

    October 25, 2015 at 7:30 pm

  7. i want to sell one like this my email is gts69318@hotmail.com

    Santiago Alonso Saldaña Rodrigo

    January 8, 2016 at 5:39 pm


Leave a Reply

