Heuerville

Vintage Heuer / TAG Heuer watches, and a few others. Plus Handmade straps..

Heuer Monaco 40th Anniversary ‘McQueen’

with 16 comments

Monaco 40th McQueen

(TAG) Heuer Monaco 40th ‘McQueen’ LE of 1000, Model no. CAW211A, Modern Calibre 11. 2009.

This is one of those unexpected watches that half fell into my lap. I wasn’t actively hunting for one, but it just happened to pop up at the right time and place.

I’m sure that some may be wondering why I didn’t go for a vintage or ‘proper’ Monaco, as some might say.. well I was lucky enough to add a 1970’s 1133G to the collection last year, and as lovely as it was, I was a little uncomfortable wearing it. I always felt that it was a touch too delicate, something that is not based in fact, I’m sure it’s just as tough as any other vintage Heuer –  they were designed as ‘sports’ watches after all. It was more my feelings towards it, in short, I felt I needed to pamper it, be ultra careful when wearing it. Because of that, I eventually moved it on to another collector. The thought of getting a blue 1133B did cross my mind, but that’s a lot of coin to shell out, and I would feel even more protective about it.

So, how to fill that Monaco hole?.. well this is the ultimate choice for me.. it’s the most accurate Monaco, in terms of honoring the original that TAG Heuer have made. Released as a limited edition of 1000 to celebrate the 40th anniversary of the original Monaco’s release in 1969 and Steve McQueen’s involvement as its original ambassador. At first glance, you may think it looks like every other TAG Heuer ‘McQueen’ Blue Monaco, but look a little longer, and they are very different. The similarities to the original are evident – the left hand Heuer signed crown,  the (hand) applied metal hour batons at right-angles, the black sub-dial pins. Even the ‘Swiss’ text above the date window, red inserts in the hour and minute hands.. and so on.. not forgetting  the lack of ‘TAG’ on the dial.

This example is by no means mint, it has clearly seen some life since it’s release in 2009, and that is just fine with me… it’s a ‘wear everyday’ watch that doesn’t need wrapping in cotton wool, and for that reason, I will enjoy it, probably more than I would a true vintage piece.

It has TAG Heuers modern take on the original Cal. 11 (and 12) movement.. called the ‘Caliber 11’ – the same movement that they fitted in the Autavia re-issue pieces.  It is a base ETA 2892 Calibre Dubois Depraz 2022,  with continuous seconds running on the right sub dial and a chrono minute counter on the left (different from the original Cal. 11, white had chrono hours on the left, and chrono minutes on the right – no continuous seconds).  The case is 38mm with anti-reflective curved sapphire crystal glass. It has a water resistance of 50m, and the blurb says that the hour batons are ‘hand applied’. A nice touch is the caseback, which features an engraved Heuer logo, Jack Heuer’s signature, the LE number X of 1000, and the message “In tribute to Steve McQueen 40th Anniversary – Limited Edition”. If you want that vintage look, but with everyday usage, this is probably the best you can get. In my opinion, TAG Heuer did a wonderful job, and to me, it is an honorary Heuer, and sits proudly next to its vintage brothers.

Heuer Monaco 40th Anniversary

Heuer Monaco 40th Anniversary

Written by Heuerville

May 25, 2013 at 3:55 pm

16 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’d really like to add a timepiece like that myself. Great looking Monaco.

    SuperSwede

    May 25, 2013 at 6:02 pm

    • We have a TH Monaco 40th Ltd ed never worn. It is in the original box and packaging with all papers intact. Completely as new. It resides safely in the bank in London. We paid £6,250 in 2009 and would like to make a reasonable profit.

      Are you interested in this proposition?

      Regards
      Malcolm Phillips

      Malcolm Phillips

      October 10, 2014 at 3:15 pm

  2. Hi, this is a beauty and work of art. Are you, on the off chance, prepared to share your joy with a fellow collector (i.e. sell it to me)?

    Royce

    April 24, 2014 at 3:00 am

    • Dear Royce,
      We have a TH Monaco 40th ltd edition, bought brand new in 2009 and never worn. With box, all papers and original packaging. We paid £6,250 and would like to make a reasonable profit. It resides safely at the bank in London.

      Would this proposition be of interest?

      Malcolm Phillips

      Malcolm Phillips

      October 10, 2014 at 3:10 pm

      • Malcom,

        Do you still have it? How do I get in touch with you?

        Hubert

        November 12, 2014 at 5:26 pm

  3. Is this watch still for sale

    Paddy Micklefield

    June 8, 2015 at 6:22 pm

  4. I am selling a hardly worn Monaco 40th Anniversary in mint condition. In addition to the two original factory straps it comes with a NOS blue corfam strap with a Heuer buckle. Price to be discussed, make me an offer..

    Klaus Steitz

    June 27, 2016 at 10:29 pm

    • Is this watch still available ? If so, I will make an offer

      Ray Fox

      July 26, 2016 at 4:24 am

      • Yes, it is..and, contrary to the above description, it is unworn..

        Klaus Steitz

        July 26, 2016 at 11:03 am

      • I had asked some time ago if this watch was still available ? I think if I understand the e-mail I got today and the information and pictures above, that it is. I understand this is a nice piece and appeared to be a 2009 model. I would be interested in making an offer and have the cash as needed. That being said, I see new Monaco’s going for from $3,800 to $5,900. If I make an offer on a 2009 model, regardless of it’s condition, I would expect to pay a bit less that the lower number listed above. If you want to look at offers less than $3,800, please let me know, as I said, I have the cash and would purchase it right away. Thank you.

        Ray Fox, (858) 442-8931

        November 2, 2016 at 4:07 am

    • Hi Klaus is the watch still available?

      Andrew

      November 1, 2016 at 11:14 am

      • Hi Andrew,

        sorry, the watch has been sold..

        Greetings,
        Klaus

        Klaus Steitz

        November 1, 2016 at 11:06 pm

  5. I have one available; it’s in perfect MINT/LIKE NEW condition; worn once. Just returned from a full service from TAG Heuer to replace the seals (it was due since this was produced back in 2009 after all) and to calibrate the timing. I could be persuaded to sell for the right price.

    Hubert

    November 2, 2016 at 12:01 am

    • Hi Hubert
      Did you sell the watch in the end?
      Thanks David

      david watts

      December 5, 2017 at 4:51 pm

      • No. Still have it.

        Hubert

        December 5, 2017 at 6:29 pm


Leave a comment