Heuerville

Vintage Heuer / TAG Heuer watches, and a few others. Plus Handmade straps..

Heuer Carrera 3648S

with 3 comments

Heuer Carrera 3648S

Heuer Carrera 3648S, 1964-5, Valjoux 92

Having took the plunge and bought my first 60’s Carrera last year, I got the bug and decided to add this one to the collection too. I’m not really into gold (or plated) watches, but this one was for sale at a very reasonable price over on TZUK, so I thought I’d give it a go.

It is a first execution hands and dial model, dating from 1964-65 (serial 803xx) with 20 micron gold plate and a stainless steel screw back. Powered by a V92 movement, features a 45 min register and continuous seconds hand on the left register. This model features in catalogues: 1964, 65, 68 & 69, and in 1965 cost $74.50USD, which was surprisingly more expensive than the standard stainless steel model, albeit by $5.

It’s in very clean condition. There is some wear to the gold plate, but not really noticeable when on the wrist. I contemplated having it re-plated, but decided against it as I had a bad experience with this in the distant past.

The first thing that struck me was that it wears bigger than you would think of a 36mm watch, and comparing it to my black dialled version, this is mainly due to it being the non-tachy model, so the dial is cleaner and more spread out to the edges – that, and the silver/white dial which always seems to ‘enlarge’ a watches appearance. The matching outer track also makes a big difference. Talking of which, the dial is stunning, with a subtle starburst finish to it, it catches the light beautifully.

I admit that I didn’t wear it much, always choosing to go for my black dial version, so it has since left my collection to be enjoyed by someone who will wear it instead of sitting in a watch box. It was sad to see it go, but maybe it’s just confirms that I’m a stainless case fan after all.. but an exception could be made for the legendary 1153 gold Carrera!

Written by Heuerville

February 10, 2013 at 1:29 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Some rather nice pictures of a great piece!:)

    SuperSwede

    February 10, 2013 at 3:19 pm

  2. Just curious, how much did you get for it?

    Ro

    November 28, 2016 at 7:31 pm


Leave a Reply

