Heuerville

Vintage Heuer / TAG Heuer watches, and a few others. Plus Handmade straps..

Heuer Autavia 2446C GMT Mk4

with 5 comments

Heuer Autavia 2446C GMT Mk4

Heuer Autavia 2446C GMT Mk4, Valjoux 724, c1970/71

Like most Heuer collectors, I have a thing for any of the GMT’s, and while most are popular amongst the Heueristas, it’s the 2446 examples that seem to be highly appreciated by the wider watch world. Maybe it’s the classic styling and the Valjoux 72 based movement (v724), either way it’s a prized watch. I did have a 2446C GMT already, albeit with a very faded bezel, and I was in the process of contemplating having the bezel milled out and an aftermarket insert fitted (the bezels on these are one piece, you can’t just replace the insert – it’s printed directly on a solid bezel). Then, this beautiful example came along.

It was a little serendipitous, as the seller – a fellow collector in the US saw my ‘Mitsukoshi’ panda dial Speedmaster conversion, and we chatted via email as he wanted to do the very same mod. Which he eventually did, and was so pleased with the outcome, he listed this stunning GMT on the Heuer forum. I spotted it and fired an email, and it was mine.. thanks Jim, I owe you a beer!

So, what can I say about this lovely thing – well, it’s a 2446C Mk4, the last GMT in the 2446C case, and it’s a marvel, in amazing condition having spent many years in California, them onto Jim in Indiana, then onto me.

Autavia 2446C GMT

Autavia 2446C GMT

2446C & 11063 GMT's

Together with it’s younger son, the 11063 GMT –  last of the Autavia GMTs.

White chrono hand mystery…
Common knowledge would say this has a white central chrono hand from an earlier model – (which is something I’m pleased about, I think it looks much better with a white hand, usually seen on the 2446 screwback, I don’t know why Heuer changed to red!). The odd thing is, I did some digging around some of the old catalogues to see if indeed it should have a red hand, and I can’t be absolutely sure it should actually be red. I found some back and white line drawings in some of the catalogues, and it looks white – but this just might be artistic license in the line drawings. Also, in the history section of the TAG Heuer website, they have a photo of this same model with a white hand, also with a rather fetching lime green/yellow GMT hand. This is of interest, as the later GMTs hand this greeny/yellow hand, so maybe it is a transitional ‘last in production’ model.  Note that TAG Heuer have stated ’69, but that is for the 2446 model range, not that specific watch.

Either way, I prefer the white hand, and if I ever spot a greeny/yellow GMT hand, I’ll bag that too!

Screengrab from TAG Heuer's website
Above. Screengrab from TAG Heuer’s website

The GMT is also seen in one of the catalogues (with red chrono hand!) pictured with a GMT Super Autavia dash timer, and the Red Arrows, stating “Used by the RAF Red Arrows in the London to Sydney Air race. I’ve hunted around for info on this air race, with not much luck.

Written by Heuerville

September 2, 2013 at 8:25 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great piece Mr. M., and that bracelet is the ko͞o də ˈgräs/ ! That Super Autavia would look sooo very nice on the dash of my 40 year old sedan (saloon to you).

    Cheers,
    Jim V.O.

    Jim V.O.

    September 2, 2013 at 11:22 pm

    • Jim, really great to hear from you.. and that your GMT is in good hands! The bracelet is an aftermarket job that I had kicking around, I was over the moon it fitted.
      What’s the sedan, I’m intrigued?

      Heuerville

      September 3, 2013 at 12:04 am

  2. Hi Stewart, I’m looking for a nice and affordable bracelet for my GMT and I’m crazy about your jubilee. Which brand/type is it?

    Thanks

    Kevin

    Kevin Beckers

    August 17, 2015 at 5:29 pm

    • Kevin
      I’m afraid I’ve no idea.. it was one I already had & is unbranded. I know that 20mm Heuer diver jubilee’s fit too – hope that helps!

      Heuerville

      August 17, 2015 at 5:59 pm

  3. I place an oval link Rolex jubillee on mine and it fit surprisingly well.

    Larry

    October 25, 2015 at 7:16 pm


Leave a Reply

