Heuerville

Vintage Heuer / TAG Heuer watches, and a few others. Plus Handmade straps..

Tudor Submariner 7016/0 ‘Snowflake’ ’68

with 4 comments

Tudor Snowflake

Tudor Submariner 7016/0 ‘Snowflake’ 1968

I picked up this little gem some 10 months ago, but only just realized that I hadn’t added it to the blog. I’m a real sucker for these old Tudor Subs, whether they be a Snowflake variant or not.

Not being a vintage Tudor expert, I wasn’t confident to hunt one down from unknown private sellers, so I jumped on this one when I saw my friends over at HQMilton listing it, especially as it was freshly serviced and running to COSC specs.

Having rescued many Heuers over the years that have needed a little TLC, I decided to go for this one and get this old-timer back to it’s former glory. Not that it needed a lot of work.. the only thing that was ‘wrong’ with it was that the lume on the dial had been partially cleaned away. Presumably it had badly flaking hour lume plots, and a well meaning watchmaker cleaned it away. Sadly this is not that uncommon, and the hour plots didn’t match the original untouched creamy lume of the hands. Thankfully the rest of the dial is is stunning condition.

So I decided to get the hour plots tidied up and relumed, and a big thanks goes to James Hyman, who is one of the finest master vintage relumers. I’ve used James many times over the years, but he knocked this one out of the park. The colour match with the hands is spot on, even the texture is perfectly matched. More astonishing is that he matched the now non-existent glow of the hands.

I know some collectors prefer no relume work, but I honestly think it was a good decision, and I enjoy the watch far more now.

I won’t attempt to do a write up on the history of this model, as my knowledge is severely lacking. You are far better off following the links below to some great articles written by some real Tudor experts.

http://tudorcollectorsite.blogspot.co.uk/p/submariner-model-7016-7021.html

http://www.vintagehour.com/snowflake-tudor-submariner-icon/

Written by Heuerville

April 20, 2015 at 4:05 pm

Posted in Non-Heuer

Tagged with , ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. WOW that is a gorgeous looking Snowflake. Great pics. Congrats and enjoy it!
    Kyle

  2. Lovely patina Stewart. I have a 7021/0 which I changed the crystal to a super dome without the cyclops. Looks much better.

    Eric Pineda

    August 16, 2015 at 1:42 pm

  3. That is absolutely stunning…congrats on a fine pickup…wow.

    Stephen Scharf

    February 7, 2016 at 3:22 am


Leave a Reply

