Heuerville

Vintage Heuer / TAG Heuer watches, and a few others. Plus Handmade straps..

Heuer Diver 980.028 Ladies Black Coral II

with 7 comments

Heuer Diver 980.028 Black Coral II, Ladies 28mm. Black PVD and Gold Plate, c1982-85

Another ladies model that is a joy to handle. This one is the black PVD and gold plate from the Black Coral II range. (Black Coral (one) was the all black models).

This one is very well preserved, having seen little use since the early 80’s. The caseback is unusual in that it looks to have been restamped – I can’t be certain that this is the case, I have seen other casebacks like this – (mainly on ladies models) ie. With the numbers in a sunken rounded rectangle/sausage shape. If it is a restamping, then I’m pretty sure it is a been factory restamp – the style of the stamping is very similar to how Heuer restamped their Cal. 11 movement bridges to display ‘Cal. 12’ after the upgrade. Either way, these appear to come from the factory like this.

This 980.028 is powered by a tiny ESA quartz movement, and was priced in 1982 at $375, and in 1985 at 740 Deutsche Marks. It is named as a 28mm diver, but like all Heuer divers this doesn’t include the crown guards and crown, which make it around 32mm. With 14mm lugs, make no mistake, it’s a small watch, but a perfect tool watch for the active lady. I’ve said it many times before, they are fascinating to study, and are very well built. I managed to hunt down a 14mm military type NATO-RAF-esk strap for the watch, complete with gold plate buckle, which suits it very well.

See it here in the 1982 Divers Catalogue on OTD.

Written by Heuerville

June 21, 2012 at 11:07 am

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. do you have parts for the ladies Black Coral watch? This is the watch I have, the bezel came off this past summer while lobster diving & the company says the bezel is no longer available. If you don’t have, do you know where I might be able to find the bezel? My watch works perfectly except for this. Thanks, Stefanie

    Stefanie Fariss

    January 11, 2014 at 7:41 pm

  2. When the day comes, if you EVER need to let a precious item go, I WILL absolutely buy this to complete my life. I had this watch new from the 1980’s and wore it until there was nothing left. Tag begged me to stop sending it for battery changes and small repairs then they refused altogether. My precious watch finally died after 30 years of a hard nurses life.
    I turned to Ebay for sisters #2, 3, & 4. NONE were as immaculate as this one and now I have had to cannibalize the girls for each other. At the moment none work and I am breadstick.
    EVERY picture my children ever drew of me as they grew up had this black watch.
    I am 63 years old and it is the only watch i have ever worn, ever wanted.
    Even my children now 39, 29, 26 & 24 feel my loss. My beautiful Tag has been the only constant in my life and failed marriages, raising 4 children alone.
    I made a vow to myself if I ever found a pristine Black Coral I was buying it even if the price was triple the list price. I am begging you to help me find, or sell me this one….and hopefully my last girl.

    Rhonda Gaines

    July 30, 2016 at 7:46 pm

    • Hi Rhonda,
      That’s an amazing story. I’d love to be able to help.. but unfortunately I sold the watch some time ago. I can only advise that you keep hunting on eBay.

      Heuerville

      July 30, 2016 at 9:09 pm

      • I have a black coral tag but lost the bezel the last time I went diving with it. Company said they quit making that particular part. Do u have any interest in buying my watch?

        Stefanie

        July 30, 2016 at 9:21 pm

      • Stefanie, not sure if this is aimed at me.. if so, thanks, but I’m not looking for one right now.

        Heuerville

        July 30, 2016 at 10:05 pm


Leave a comment