Heuerville

Vintage Heuer / TAG Heuer watches, and a few others. Plus Handmade straps..

Omega Seamaster 300 166.0324

with 9 comments

Omega Seamaster 300

Omega Seamaster 300 166.0324 c1965 Serial No. No date.

First thing first, unfortunately this isn’t a true vintage NOS survivor. It’s from the stables of Australian Omega wizards Watchco. For those that aren’t familiar with their work, they create these watches from genuine NOS & new Omega parts and genuine NOS Omega movements.

You’ll have to forgive me, as I don’t know the finer details of the rich history of this model, so I won’t attempt to. There are plenty of superb Omega enthusiast sites out there with every detail artfully researched.

This one has case number 22,615,XXX, which puts it at 1965. Please feel free to correct me if I’m wrong! The case reference is 166.0324. It is fitted with a true NOS Omega Caliber 550 movement, which (as I understand it) was manufactured for the US market.

It sits on a Ref.1171/1/633 bracelet, which really looks great. I have tried it on an aftermarket sharkmesh, this looks great too – in fact, this watch looks the business on pretty much any strap!

A big thank you goes to the fellas over at Watchco.

Some further reading here:
http://chronomaddox.com/seamaster_3oo_a_history.html
https://www.hodinkee.com/articles/a-week-on-the-wrist-omega-seamaster-300-master-co-axial

 

Written by Heuerville

April 17, 2016 at 12:06 pm

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Absolutely stunning!

    Paul Hyde

    April 17, 2016 at 12:13 pm

  2. Stunning photos as usual! I’ve had my WatchCo SM300 for the last seven years. It was a grail watch for me for years. Flawless watch. As I’ve often said on forums, if only Omega had kept this watch in production, it would have been their equivalent of the Rolex Submariner.
    Classic, classic watch.

    Teeritz

    April 19, 2016 at 10:48 am

  3. Stewart – big fan of the old school SM300 and to be honest, don’t really have a problem with the Watchco watches – as long as properly disclosed. Question is how you scored one? Thought Watchco ceased work on these a while back?

    Alexander Wang

    June 6, 2016 at 3:07 pm

    • I bought it from them just over a year ago, they had a cancelled order – I think from the Omega Forums group buy.

      Heuerville

      June 6, 2016 at 4:32 pm

  4. No date reference for this SM300 should be 165.024. The 166.024 is for the date versions

    Barry Graves

    July 12, 2016 at 1:43 am

  5. I stand corrected! I was unaware Omega had assigned a separate reference to these SM300s assembled from replacement parts.

    Barry

    August 6, 2016 at 12:49 am

    • I blame you Stuart. It’s because of this post I had to buy my own… I have the date version, but instead of a watchco it was put together by a very clever chap (ChrisN) on the Omega Forums. It’s a fabulous watch. 🤓

      Jason

      March 25, 2017 at 1:49 pm


Leave a Reply

