Heuerville

Vintage Heuer / TAG Heuer watches, and a few others. Plus Handmade straps..

Heuer Diver 982.006 Pewter PVD ‘Great Grey’

with 3 comments

Heuer Diver 982.006 Pewter PVD, Grey Dial, Oversized 42mm case. ESA 536.121. c1983

The Heuer grey dialed divers are rare, and this oversized case version is even more so. They are stunning in the flesh, with their refreshing clean design. I had the mid-size version of this watch, which I sold on a while back, and regretted it. Then, thanks to fellow collector Paul, who runs Heuerworld, I got the opportunity to get my grubby mitts on this.. the oversized 42mm cased version, and it’s a beauty. What is immediately notable are the beautifully crisp lines of the case, it’s always a pleasure to get an untouched case, where the design can be appreciated as it was when it left the factory gates. The dial is truly beautiful, with a pleasing hint of patina to the lume, which still lights up nicely.

I’d never seen one on the open market before, so I was surprised to discover that Paul had two, both for sale.. (a fellow collector grabbed the other one). The dial gives this watch an incredibly clean look, the added surface area of the bigger dial in this model adds to the crisp design. It has a very contemporary feel to it, it kinda reminds me of my MacBook Pro. Its clean lines, classic case design and tool-watch toughness, gives it immense wrist presence. I’m tempted to give it a name.. to distinguish it from other divers.. maybe ‘Sir Jonny Ive’ might be too much.. if I had to, I think I’d have to plump for ‘Great Grey’.

Heuer 982.006 in the 1983 Catalogue

Written by Heuerville

January 8, 2012 at 6:44 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have this wonderful watch and have kept it in beautiful condition.

    John J Foote

    October 27, 2014 at 3:36 am

    • Stewart, do you still have this one and if so are you possibly willing to part from it? Rgrds Arthur

      Arthur van Grinsven

      November 2, 2014 at 9:03 am

      • Hi Arthur, I’m afraid I don’t have it any more – sorry.

        Heuerville

        November 2, 2014 at 12:21 pm


Leave a comment