Heuerville

Vintage Heuer / TAG Heuer watches, and a few others. Plus Handmade straps..

Heuer Diver Professional LV ‘Hulk’ (980.006 Custom)

with 18 comments

Heuer Diver LV Custom

Heuer Diver LV ‘Hulk’ Custom 980.006, 44mm with crown, ETA 536.121, c1983.

As some of you may remember, around a year ago I revived a knackered old gilt dial diver by resurrecting it as a ‘Black Bay’ custom. Well, it received a warm welcome, and not so long ago my mind turned to a regular stainless model that was in need of some TLC.  I’d been thinking about doing another project, and a slightly bruised 980.006 fitted the bill. It was is great overall shape, apart from having a warped/bent bezel… I suppose this is the sort of thing you encounter by buying from ebay. The dial was fantastic with lovely clean lume, that had a pleasant green patina to it. The case pretty good, with a few knocks.. but the bezel was unusable.. when rotated it would come off the case, due to the warping lifting the retention spring wire.

I did try quick photoshop mock up of it with a blue bezel, as I thought a Tudor Snowflake custom might look good.. but it didn’t look quite right – I think the green lume didn’t quite ‘click’. I always liked the look Rolex Sub LV (Lunette Verde – green bezel), and the greeny lume on the Heuer set me off wondering if green might be the way forward.

I did have a spare gold plated bezel.. which a knackered insert, so I removed the insert, and had the bezel blasted back to the steel, I sharpened up the beveled edges, and polished it.. then modified it to fit the green insert – in the same way I did the red ‘Black Bay’ custom. I also had a super thick 4mm crystal fitted (thanks Jimbo), as the new insert had more of an angled slant to it than the original. Then fitted a brand new solid link aftermarket oyster (aftermarket Rolex Sub). I was going to fit snowflake hands, but the originals were in such stunning condition, I couldn’t do it, and I’m glad I didn’t.

Even I’m astonished by the result.. and I have to say.. it’s equal if not better than a standard 980.006.. I know some purists will tut at me saying that, but it really is a awesome looking thing. I think what really sets it off is that the old heuer lume is greeny – it totally compliments the bezel.. it looks like it was designed that way. I present the Heuer Diver Professional Lunette Verde..

Heuer Diver LV Custom

Heuer Diver LV Custom

Heuer Diver LV Custom

Heuer Diver LV Custom

Heuer Diver LV Custom

Heuer Diver LV Custom

Written by Heuerville

June 22, 2013 at 4:03 pm

18 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Love it! Let me know when you want to send it down the road!

    Per

    June 22, 2013 at 7:02 pm

  2. Amazing watch. Had chance for some hands-on. Very solid and durable watch from the first look

    Seiko SKX007

    July 9, 2013 at 2:01 pm

  3. I am looking for a crystal like the one “Jimbo” supplied for you. I have searched high and low and can’t find out who he is. Could you please provide a link or contact info?

    Justin B

    August 8, 2013 at 2:08 am

    • Hi Justin,
      Jimbo is James Hyman, he is a UK based ‘watch repairer’, he isn’t a watchmaker per se, but can do a wide range of cosmetics & other stuff.
      James doesn’t produce the crystals, he simply orders what he needs from a UK based watch parts suppliers, called Cousinsuk.com. It’s a common place that watchmakers order parts from. The glass is just a regular order item, 31x4mm I believe, head over to their website and order one!

      Heuerville

      August 8, 2013 at 8:17 am

  4. I never thought I’d want a quartz watch (sorry, I’m not a snob, but…) until I saw this. Fantastic watch.

    Michael Harding

    August 11, 2013 at 9:08 am

    • Great MOD, I was wondering … I have a 844/3 automatic watch and although the bezel and insert is relatively ok, I certainly would like to have the insert replaced with a similar one you used for your “Heuer Diver LV”. As you know NOS bezels and/or insert are impossible to find. Would you be interested in doing the work and if you what would be your price. Sincere regards Arthur

      Arthur van Grinsven

      November 27, 2013 at 4:45 pm

      • Thanks for the comments Arthur. As for doing the work – I’m no watchmaker (far from it), and would not feel confident enough to work on someone else’s watch (I could make a mistake, I don’t have insurance etc etc). All I did was sand down the inner bezel ring, and then sand the inner edge of the insert. I then had my watchmaker fit a thicker crystal.

        Heuerville

        November 27, 2013 at 5:19 pm

  5. This is one of the best conversions I have seen, well done. I have a similar one myself. could you please let me know where you got the green bezel from, and how would I know what size will fit?
    Mine is a 980 006 L, any idea what sort of money they will go for?
    thanks
    Ara

    Ara Chobanian

    January 9, 2014 at 8:00 pm

    • I’m pretty sure it was an insert for a Submariner 16800 – from ebay.

      Heuerville

      January 9, 2014 at 8:10 pm

  6. Hi Stewart,

    Not only are your watches superb but the photography is also truly world class. You have an eye for taking photos of the watch that shows their majestic beauty.

    Eric

    Eric Pineda

    March 16, 2015 at 12:54 am

  7. Stewart,

    Do you think a green insert from a Rolex Submariner 16610LV could fit the bezel of a Heuer 980.006 – meaning I’m not in the same situation as you with a banged up bezel.

    Thanks,

    Adam

    Adam

    May 30, 2015 at 9:05 pm

    • I’d say no – it won’t be a direct fit, at the minimum the inner ring of the bezel would need smoothing down to accommodate.

      Heuerville

      May 30, 2015 at 10:13 pm

      • Thanks – how much roughly did the work cost?

        Adam

        May 30, 2015 at 11:44 pm

      • I did the bezel work myself, so no cost.

        Heuerville

        May 31, 2015 at 12:17 am

  8. Hi Stewart and hello from Australia again. Can you please share the where you sourced the oyster bracelet? Was it a good fit and good match?

    SANDY ZALSTEIN

    November 19, 2016 at 11:43 pm

    • Sandy, I think I got it from Strapped For Time, but I can’t remember!

      Heuerville

      November 20, 2016 at 2:46 am

      • Thank you
        Obviously no complaints….
        Cheers

        SANDY ZALSTEIN

        November 20, 2016 at 4:34 am


Leave a comment