Heuerville

Vintage Heuer / TAG Heuer watches, and a few others. Plus Handmade straps..

Heuer Monaco 1133G

with 2 comments

Heuer Monaco 1133G, Cal. 11i, 1970

Technically the metallic grey dialed 1133G comes in four flavours; with grey or black sub registers, and they can be either sunken or painted, but it is common to state that there are two dial variants (black or grey subs). The painted type being rarer, but in my opinion, not as aesthetically pleasing. Personally I think the sunken black subs variant is the nicest looking, and I’m extremely happy to finally get my mucky paws on this one.

The 1133G was made from 1970 to 74, and featured either a Cal. 11 or 12 movement. My Serial, 160xxx suggests that it is from 1970, as a fellow collector has a later serial of 162xxx and his watch is engraved on the back with a date of Oct 1970.

This is my first Monaco, in fact it’s the first time I’ve ever seen of handled one in the flesh. I suppose that might be surprising given that I’m a fully paid up Heuer nut. I’ll be perfectly honest, I’ve never really had a thing for the Monaco, I’ve spent years reading about how amazing they are, and seen some stunning photos along the way, but I’ve never really ‘got it’. OK, it’s a nice looking watch, but would I spend that kind of coin on one.. no. Well, in a moment of madness I agreed to buy this one, it was a good deal, so I knew that if I didn’t like it, I could move it on easily. Well, it has surprised me, it’s quite an astonishing thing. I’m not saying it’s the be-all-and-end-all of watch design, but it’s the way it feels, the way it wears, it’s hard to describe really, maybe it’s because it’s an icon of the watch world. I also like the under-the-radar feel of this grey version, it’s a more stealthy than the well known ‘McQueen’ blue & white subdial version.

First Grey seen in the 1970 catalogue (OTD)

Grey & Black in the 1972 catalogue (OTD)

Written by Heuerville

November 3, 2012 at 9:09 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Stewart, I have nice G as well with black subs. Do you prefer to wear it with black strap or the perfornated brown version??

    ron henselmans

    September 5, 2013 at 5:24 pm

  2. personal grail… love this variant! cheers 😉

    Peter

    December 31, 2013 at 5:05 pm


Leave a Reply

