Heuerville

Vintage Heuer / TAG Heuer watches, and a few others. Plus Handmade straps..

Heuer Pilot 230.006

with 12 comments

Heuer Pilot 230.006 c1980-85

It originally belonged to a US Army Pilot, who’d bought it from new and gave him years of reliable service. After he retired it was relegated to the back of a drawer… where it apparently sat for 10 years before finding it’s way to me through a dealer. The bezel insert was missing, but I managed to track down a replacement from ClassicHeuer.de. It also needed part of the movement replaced, so after a long time managed to source the correct parts. It features a quartz mated to a mechanical Dubois Depraz 2000 chronograph module., and ‘ticks’ twice a second. Despite it not being a true mechanical movement, it was much admired by Chuck Maddox, who thought that it was wonderful, and wrote many pleasant words about it, in fact he liked it an awful lot:

“You can keep your DDM All Silver Speedy, I’ll take one of these every time. Even the quartz models are very cool watches. The wizz wheel is very handy for a number of functions, they are very comfortable to wear, are great timekeepers, offer much of the functionality of similar Breitlings but without the glitz and with much better readability.

I feel that they were largely ignored when they were on the market and as they were likely never a large volume model, are especially scarce now that they are gone. I’d sure like to see TAG Heuer reintroduce the automatic model. I wouldn’t trade any of mine for any Triple-Date Speedy…

They are that cool…”

  – Chuck Maddox

Click here for Chuck’s extensive research into the Heuer Pilot.

This Pilot has a stepped glass, just in case you think you are seeing double in some of the pics! It also features a date magnifier bubble that is set into the actual dial. Its pretty big, at a smidgen under 43mm across. Its bracelet is integrated into the case and it very comfortable for such a big piece. These are often seen in TAG Heuer guise. It was available in all black or silver dial, like this one. The dial is lovely, and changes hue depending on the lighting conditions, and the creamy lume of the triangular hour markers are just perfect.

It features in the 1980 catalogue in the ‘Aviator’ section, which also features some of the Heuer Night Divers, but with a 60 min count down bezels, supposedly for parachuting!!

Seen in the 1980 Aviation Catalogue, 1983 French Catalogue and 1985 Catalogue on OTD.

There is also further reading on the Heuer & TAG Heuer Pilot in an article on Cal. 11.

Pilot Instruction Manual
Want to know how to actually use the slide rule? Check out the instruction manual scans courtesy of Chuck Maddox.

Written by Heuerville

October 27, 2011 at 5:28 pm

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great information and best pictures of this watch I’ve found on any website..
    Do you happen to know where I could find this model for sale? I had one until recently missing/stolen on a vacation… any information would be very much appreciated!

    Steve F

    November 23, 2011 at 4:57 am

  2. Just recently been given a pilot by my brother as a gift. I have been reading up on them and mine apears to be a crossover from heuer to tag heuer. I knoiiw it is 1985 but the logo on the face is tag heuer and the back of the watch is heuer as is the bracelet

    mickbray

    January 1, 2012 at 4:41 pm

    • Mick, although not hugely common, this did happen to a many models that crossed over into the TAG Heuer range.
      Enjoy your watch.

      Heuerville

      January 1, 2012 at 4:45 pm

  3. I have one of these that I’ve owned since 1985. Finding parts now is quite challenging as I need a bracelet pin that attaches the case to the bracelet and there are none in the USA any longer.

    If anyone knows of a source for parts, I’d be VERY grateful for any leads.

    SWeiner

    April 20, 2012 at 6:46 am

    • Hi, yep, parts are hard to come by.. I don’t know where you’d get a specific TAG Heuer pin – but I would have thought it might be a fairly standard part that a watchmaker could source?

      Heuerville

      April 20, 2012 at 2:35 pm

      • I’d concur, however I’ve not found any watchmaker who can help nor even interested in helping.

        SWeiner

        April 20, 2012 at 4:06 pm

      • I never removed my bracelet – I presume it is a simple tension fit bar.

        Heuerville

        April 20, 2012 at 6:15 pm

      • I think so, however I build race cars, not watches,…:) 🙂 It looks like some kind of a split pin.

        SWeiner

        April 20, 2012 at 8:24 pm

  4. Please forgive this specific post as I do not know where else to post information concerning repair of Heur Watch in the United States. I ran into great difficulty having my 3000 repaired as age was an issue and Heuer corporate refused to undertake repair due to a scarcity of available parts. During an exhaustive search I discovered a watch maker in California who fortunately for me, was well versed and acquainted with the entire Heir line of timepieces. After several conversations I sent my watch to him, and am happy to say that is for all intents and purposes my 3000 is functioning as new.
    Please feel free to contact Carlos Balderrama at San Diego Watch & Jewerly Repair Center: 861 6th Avenue Ste 325 San Diego, CA 92101 (619) 892-7970 ledmetal69@yahoo.com

    Neil Lipes

    August 30, 2015 at 12:40 pm

  5. It’s a nice watch; I have an original 1985 automatic I purchased from Sporty’s Pilot Catalog. The problem is that the bezel insert (an E6B pilot slide rule) is attached by tape/glue which will dry out. If you lose the insert, you will be hard pressed to find a replacement. Without it, the watch is much less desirable.

    Steve R

    September 20, 2017 at 5:39 pm


Leave a comment