Heuerville

Vintage Heuer / TAG Heuer watches, and a few others. Plus Handmade straps..

Heuer Autavia 11630 GMT

with 2 comments

Autavia 11630 Cal. 14, c1974/5

Well, I finally managed to get my hands on my very own GMT. I have previously posted about a 11630 GMT, but that one was on loan from a fellow Heuerist. I was totally smitten with it, and managed to bag this one from another Heuer collector from the Milan province of San Donato Milanese. It has the ‘Cxxx’ markings on the caseback, which signifies that it was made for the Swiss domestic market and distributed by Heuer’s Swiss distributors Cuanillon.

It’s got a lovely patina to it, with creamy lume and sub dials. It’s one of my all time favourite Heuers, and a big thanks (again) goes to Abel for refinishing the case. If you are reading this Abel, you were right, it’s one of your best efforts!!
The previous owner actually had it fully serviced by TAG Heuer, and a tell-tale sign was that TAG Heuer had incorrectly brush finished the case sides, something I’ve heard from other collectors. Seems Abel could teach TAG Heuer a thing or two about these beautiful vintage pieces.

It can be seen here in the 1974 catalogue on OTD

Written by Heuerville

October 9, 2011 at 9:26 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Stewart

    I have a 11630 GMT like yours, see here:
    http://www.heuerwatches.net/Autavia_11630_GMT.html

    On my watch the crystal is a little higher than the bezel and I was told that that is because the case on my watch is not a GMT case, but a normal 11630 case. But it also seems that the crystal on your watch sits a little high. Is that right and if yes, then what is your opinion on that?

    Peter, Denmark

    Peter Moller

    January 19, 2012 at 7:27 am

    • Hi Peter,
      I’ve heard & read about this. I’ve been told that some of my standard 11630 Autaivas ‘have GMT cases’, and I think that it’s all a bit confusing. I personally think that this is rubbish, sounds to me like you’ve been told the other way around to how I’ve been told. The crystal on mine was fitted by Abel, and he tends to fit a certain thickness. If you look at my post about the Silver dial 11630, this too has a crystal that protrudes. Yes, there were two different case suppliers for Heuer, but there are also some slight differences noted by others. ie. Position of the bezel ratchet widgets etc.

      Heuerville

      January 19, 2012 at 9:53 am


Leave a Reply

