Heuerville

Vintage Heuer / TAG Heuer watches, and a few others. Plus Handmade straps..

Heuer Diver 980.006 (Rhode Island)

with 12 comments

Heuer Diver 980.006, 200m, Oversized 42mm case, ETA 536,121, c1980-84

This is the second 980.006 I’ve posted, so I won’t whittle on about it’s facts n figures.. if you want to read what I wrote before, click here.
This was my first 980.006, bought a long time ago, from a seller in Rhode Island, USA. The lume on it is just lovely.. is has developed into a gorgeous green/grey colour. This watch almost got ruined… I took it to a local watchmaker, before I knew about all the various Heuer experts.

This local watchmaker was absolutely useless. He lost the stem, fitted the wrong glass, and when I went to collect it after he’d had it for over 12 months, he opened it up in front of me with a basic cheap tool, dropped the movement/dial, and caught it roughly in his fumbling hands, pressing the hands and dial with a big fat thumb. I actually gasped. Anyway, after a bit of an argument, I took it back into my custody and sent it to a trusted Heuer expert.. and this is how it now looks, with a new glass, cleaned up dial and new stem.

This version 980.006 can be seen here in the 1981 Speciality catalogue on OTD

 

Written by Heuerville

September 10, 2011 at 10:55 pm

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This site was… how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I have found something which helped me. Appreciate it!

    smeg fridge

    April 6, 2012 at 6:40 pm

  2. I have found a Heuer 980.006 with 17 17 under the model number. Can you tell me what this means? The hands and date work fine when moving them with the stem. I need to put a battery in to check the function. If it works I am thinking about restoring. The case needs to be polished to remove scratchs,crystal replaced. It currently has the stainless band but I like the looks of the brown leather band you have pictured. Any thoughts on all this would be great. Thanks in advance.

    Kendall

    September 21, 2012 at 1:55 pm

    • I’ve seen many of these with numbers stamped under the model code.. I’ve no solid proof as to exactly what they are, maybe just batch codes, or country supply codes. Some have them, some don’t. They could be stamped on by the dealers or owners.. hard to tell without a photograph. I’ve seen some numbers repeated too, so they aren’t necessarily unique to the watch. They aren’t of any real importance. Your proposed restoration sounds all pretty straight forward – god luck.

      Heuerville

      September 21, 2012 at 2:04 pm

      • My 980.006 has got number 792 engraved below the model number. The front tells that this watch is made in France. When I received the watch in 1981, I ordered it at a local watchmaker, I was rather disappointed about that. After about 25 years it stopped. And became unrepairable, according to another local watchmaker.
        Would be happy to submit pictures, if appreciated.
        And would prefer if a repair of the initial Quarz movement could be repaired. Or replaced by another Quarz movement.

        Rob Smeets

        March 10, 2013 at 11:42 am

  3. Rob,
    Sounds to me that you have a very early example – the first of these were made in France (search for Heuer Quartz Monnin on Google), and are fairly desirable. Although, I’m not sure if you are asking me a question about your watch, or just making a statement?!?

    Heuerville

    March 10, 2013 at 12:05 pm

    • Guess what! Last weekend I ordered an Eta movement 536.121 NOS. It will be delivered soon. Today I bought a new battery SR1130W. Opened my watch an cleaned the corroded battery contact at the bottom. Placed the new battery inside and… my watch is running. With the original movement of 1981.
      F…..g local watchmaker who told me this movement had a terrible defect.

      Leaves me wondering what to do with the movement I purchased. It’s a 536.121 including date and day indicator. Keep it for future use or….?

      Rob Smeets

      March 12, 2013 at 9:18 pm

      • Great news.

        Heuerville

        March 13, 2013 at 9:43 am

      • Hi,

        My 980.006 marked 792 has got a eta movement 9362 (/59). On the other hand the dial says “Made in France”. And has got the red indications 13-24.

        If you would like to use my pictures i will be happy to make some. In the current situation with the original metal bracelet. And wear and tear of the past 32 years as is.

        I would like to know how the black ring around the glass can be removed in order to clean it internally. Right now this ring doesn’t move anymore, probably to dirt accumulation. Could you help?

        Thanks in advance, Rob Smeets Netherlands

        Rob Smeets

        March 13, 2013 at 8:52 pm

  4. First up Rob, does your model have 980.006 stamped in the caseback? I’m just curious?
    The black ring, aka bezel, can be popped off by sliding a thin strong blade between the bezel and case, and levered off using a twisting action. Make sure you tape the case and bezel up securely to avoid and damage/scratches.

    Heuerville

    March 14, 2013 at 9:43 am

    • Hi,

      It took me some time to make a few pictures of my watch. In the meantime it runs very fine. So far I was unsuccessful in popping of the bezel. There must be some old dirt underneath. I will disassemble the movement and clean the housing in an ultrasonic cleaner. This may help to get the bezel of and clean it.

      Please see the pictures. You may want to use (one of) them… Curious watch!

      Best regards, Rob

      Rob Smeets

      April 11, 2013 at 3:25 pm

  5. were can i find the leather band of the watch. I have a heuer 9800006 l and i wanted to know the value of the watch as well

    ggggdddd

    December 26, 2013 at 7:44 am


Leave a Reply

