Heuerville

Vintage Heuer / TAG Heuer watches, and a few others. Plus Handmade straps..

Heuer Autavia 2446C Tachy (Early)

with 3 comments

Autavia 2446C

Heuer Autavia 2446C Tachy (Early), Valjoux 72, c1968-69

I bought this wonderful watch back in July, and I can’t believe it’s taken so long to get it on the blog. I may as well get it out of the way now.. I think this is my favourite watch – in fact, I think it’s one of the best looking vintage watches out there. I know that might raise a few eyebrows, but it’s only my humble opinion.. but I really do think it’s perfect for me.

I do have a soft spot for the Valjoux 72 Heuers, having 3 others, but this one is definitely my favourite. I think it’s the simple monotone design coupled with that perfect coffee coloured lume. It came my way through a ‘want to buy’ request on the OTD Heuer forum, and fellow Heuerista, Jamey came up trumps with this cracker. It did originally arrive with a rather battered min/hour bezel… but I happened to have a NOS Tachy bezel in the back of the drawer, and it transformed the look spectacularly. The watch has seen some life, not being a safe queen.. the case having slight battle scars, but it is nice and sharp and unpolished. I actually like it all the more for the ‘non-mintness’, as I don’t pamper it, it has become almost a daily wearer. In fact, I enjoy it so much, it has made me realise that I have far too many watches that I rarely wear.

So, it’s a circa 1968-9 compressor case model, and fairly large for a watch from that era, being 41mm without the crown. Although this is an earlier 2446C model, this is a later version of this particular mk/generation, having a plain caseback and fluted pushers. The model that came after it featured red highlights and different hands/hour batons.. see it here. The correct metal bracelet for it is a Gay Frères (GF) beads of rice, but they are hard to find and cost a small fortune. I had this old jubilee bracelet in my box of straps, which suits it nicely – but this watch is perfectly at home on a NATO, dress leather or vintage style rally.

Recently discovered photos show  James Hunt wearing a Compression cased Autavia, most probably a 2446. It seems he was a bit of a Heuer fan, with other photos showing him wearing a panda dial Carrera 2447NS, many years after it was released (on both a GF and rally strap), and possibly wearing a gold Carrera 1158.

Autavia 2446C

Autavia 2446C

Autavia 2446C

Autavia 2446C

Autavia 2446C

Written by Heuerville

October 14, 2013 at 9:39 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I was dead set on buying the earlier 2446H (Jochen Rindt) for my next Heuer purchase but now these pictures are making me waver! The coffee colour lume sets off the dial beautifully. Thank you for sharing, as usual your pictures are stunning and write-up excellent!!

    George/ghwatch

    October 16, 2013 at 1:32 pm

    • Thanks George.. Both are amazing watches, and I wear both in rotation. I would grab either, although the Rindt is harder to get hold of, and has a more classic case, but is smaller.

      Heuerville

      October 16, 2013 at 1:35 pm

  2. That is beautiful; I love the large tachy numbers. Looks great on your strap IMO

    Antoniopd

    January 6, 2014 at 4:33 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 82 other followers

