Heuerville

Vintage Heuer / TAG Heuer watches, and a few others. Plus Handmade straps..

Heuer Diver 980.006 (Norwegian)

with 8 comments

Heuer Diver 980.006, 200m, Oversized 42mm case, ETA 536,121, c1980-84

First off, ‘Norwegian’ isn’t a special model name, it’s just that I have a few of these tough tool models, this one came from the original owner in Norway, so I just need to identify which is which. I acquired this last Summer, it had a filthy dial, damaged glass & crown.. after a bit of care and attention, it turned out to be a cracker.

The 980.006 is the quintessential no nonsense quartz tool Heuer diver, brother to the 844 Auto series. Appearing in catalogues from around 1981 to 84.
It came supplied with a choice of strap.. “steel bracelet, tropic strap or rubber strap” according to one catalogue,  I presume from these options that the tropic strap was a leather type, but I can’t say for certain.

This is the second variation of the huge 42mm cased 980.006… the very first being identical, apart from: cathedral hands, no ‘quartz’ on the dial, and the bracelet was the oyster type. This 2nd version has become ‘the standard’ being available for many years unaltered until the final version in 1985 when it became the 980.006L, a slimmer cased version. (See my 980.006L here).

The first ‘cathedral hand’ version can be seen here in the French 1979 catalogue on OTD
The second (as this one) can be seen here in the 1981 Speciality catalogue on OTD

Written by Heuerville

September 9, 2011 at 7:43 pm

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. [...] won’t whittle on about it’s facts n figures.. if you want to read what I wrote before, click here. This was my first 980.006, bought a long time ago, from a seller in Rhode Island, USA. The lume on [...]

  2. Hi

    I have the Heuer 980.006 Quartz,unfortunately it has a quirky problem!.It works just fine and spot on when worn,but when left unworn for several hours it eventually stops,my local watch guy had a look but sadly couldn’t do anything.Anyway I am now looking at popping in an auto movement,can you tell me what movement will be ok to fit into this watch and to use the same hands?,and I guess if you know of a replacement quartz movement too, although I was told no longer available.

    Thanks

    Paul

    Paul

    December 24, 2011 at 2:57 pm

    • Paul,
      There are no direct replacement quartz movements available (at time of writing). Yes, an ETA 2824-2 Auto movement is a perfect direct fit (hands will fit too).. I’ve had one fitted to one of my Heuers.

      Heuerville

      December 24, 2011 at 4:22 pm

      • Hi There I too have a 980.006 and Tag have told me they cant repair it , I am really keen to convert to eta 2824-2 , do you have any more detail or can you put me in touch with a watchmaker that can do the job for me cheers paul@flude.net

        Paul Flude

        April 27, 2012 at 4:30 pm

      • Paul, it is straight swap AFAIK. Amy watchmaker can do it — it’s a simple job.

        Heuerville

        April 30, 2012 at 9:42 am

  3. hi i have a 980.006 i have owned from new , bought at the time from the only UK distributor prestons of bolton. im considering selling and was wondering its value??
    thanks

    john

    May 20, 2013 at 8:40 pm

    • Price varies hugely depending on condition, original bracelet etc.. Head only – I’d say £200 for poor, £500+ for very good.

      Heuerville

      May 21, 2013 at 11:12 am

    • Hi,
      Lovely blog to visit.. I saw your post and I am looking to buy a 980.006 (prefferably the “l” version, but both will do.

      If interested in selling, mail me at jakob_1007@hotmail.com

      Best regards
      Jakob

      Jakob

      January 14, 2014 at 12:01 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 82 other followers

